Baked Ravioli Al Forno

Baked Ravioli Al Forno

This might be my all-time favorite comfort food – it’s a twist on the classic mac and cheese.  Perfectly tender ravioli smothered in a alfredo type cheese sauce with a hint of garlic. Rich, satisfying and did I say yummy?!  This dish is best reserved for special occasions – it’s not exactly healthy!  I used cheese ravioli today, but it is quite good with mushroom, spinach or even chicken stuffed ravioli.  I use this same sauce for Fettuccine Alfredo – it’s the easiest recipe for a basic Alfredo sauce I’ve seen.

 

Baked Ravioli Al Forno

1 quart heavy cream

3 tablespoons butter

4 cloves garlic, crushed

1 1/2 – 2 cups grated pecorino romano cheese (you can use parmesan here, but I am partial to romano)

48 ounces frozen cheese ravioli

 

In a large saucepan, heat cream, butter and garlic until mixture comes to a simmer.  Slowly whisk in cheese (tasting as you go to determine how much cheese you want), salt and pepper to taste.  Continue to cook over medium heat until mixture is thickened.  Cook ravioli according to package directions.  Drain.  Place 1/3 of the sauce in a large baking dish.  Top with ravioli and remaining sauce.  At this point, you can leave it plain and bake at 375 degrees for 15 – 20 minutes until browned and bubbly.  My favorite way to serve, however, is to place tiny dollops of basil pesto over the top, finishing with a sprinkle of breadcrumbs and more grated romano cheese.  Bake as directed.  This is fantastic served with a side of sliced, garden fresh tomatoes.

The total cost for this dish is just under $10.00 – and it serves 6 ($1.66 per person).  Not exactly the most frugal recipe, but incredibly good.  I have entertained with this dish many times – and it has always had great reviews.

What are your favorite comfort food recipes?  Have you ever entertained with them?  I’d love to hear from you!

38 thoughts on “Baked Ravioli Al Forno

  1. This looks really yummy! I have entertained with alfredo before… I actually have a butterless recipe that all of my friends are in love with. I’d have to say that aside from that, mac and cheese is the only other “comfort food” recipe I have entertained with. People sometimes get a little weirded out by the fact that I use whole wheat penne instead of macaroni, but I still use enough butter, cream, and cheese for it to constitute as comfort food. 🙂

  2. Wow! I’ve never even thought about doing baked ravioli before but it looks delicious! it makes so much sense to do too. I bet it’s nice with some baby spinach 🙂

    • Baby spinach would be great! It’s nice because it’s so easy. I also bake ravioli’s in tomato sauce topped with cheese. I think it makes them a little more yummy!

  3. Pingback: My Favorite Pizza – Spicy Chicken Alfredo « A Modern Christian Woman

  4. Pingback: The Classic Wedge Salad « A Modern Christian Woman

Leave a comment