Aglio Olio – Pasta With Olive Oil and Garlic

Aglio Olio

If you have ever had a day go by so fast you didn’t even have time to prep dinner, then this might be the meal for you.  It’s a great as a simple supper, paired with a green salad and fresh sliced tomatoes.  You can also add shrimp or chicken – even chopped tomatoes and fresh mozzarella.  It’s extremely versatile, but the best part is how quickly the sauce comes together.  I use angel hair  pasta because it only takes a few minutes to cook.  Feel free to experiment! This recipe serves four as a side dish, but you can increase the amounts to serve more people.

Aglio Olio

1/4 cup olive oil

2 teaspoons garlic, minced

pinch of red pepper flakes

2 ounces chicken stock or cooking water from the pasta

2 tablespoons fresh parsley, chopped

1/2 pound angel hair pasta

fresh grated romano or parmesan – to taste

salt and freshly ground black pepper – to taste

Boil pasta as directed on package.  While the pasta is cooking, heat olive oil in a large saute pan over medium heat.  Add garlic and red pepper flakes. Cook until garlic starts to soften and lightly brown.  Add chicken stock (or cooking water) and parsley.  Drain pasta and add to saute pan.  Toss the angel hair with the olive oil – season to taste with salt and pepper.  Serve immediately and top with cheese.  Enjoy!

What are your favorite quick meals?  I’d love to hear from you! 

35 thoughts on “Aglio Olio – Pasta With Olive Oil and Garlic

  1. Love this light and tastey dish. I put a recipe for it on my blog, and yours reminded me I forgot the parsley. We (my Italian family) don’t use chicken stock though. We use water and add a couple little anchovies diced up to stew with the garlic. No need for salt that way. Good stuff. Thanks for sharing.

  2. sounds delicious! I’ve been in a pasta mood lately. I will definitely try this! I happen to love garlic… I think I’ll try fresh though.

    One of my favorite quick recipes is beef tips and steamed rice with Honey Barbecue dipping sauce… yes it’s a bit fattening but it’s so filling, and I pick up lean beef tips which help. But all you have to do is steam 2 cups of rice (love my rice cooker, but you could do it on the stove), brown the meat in a pan with a pinch of sea salt and then pour in however much BBQ sauce you want to use and heat for about a minute or two on low, steam some broccoli flowerets or throw it in some boiling water on the stove for five minutes, mix all the ingredients together and serve over the piping hot rice and I usually serve it with my homemade biscuits (which take about 8-12 minutes in the oven). I’ve got a favorite meal for my husband and I in 20 minutes.

  3. This brings back memories…. We had this (without the chicken) almost ever Friday in our house. So glad to see a different recipe. Will definitely give it a try…. My mouth is drooling already~

  4. Come on now…how can you go wrong here? Things that cause me to sing to God..pasta, parmesan, EVOO & GARLIC! YUMM! ❤ hallelujah

Leave a Reply

