The Classic Wedge Salad

The Classic Wedge Salad

 

There is a restaurant in Erie, PA that serves the most amazing wedge salads – the perfect balance of flavors.  First is the crisp iceberg lettuce, then comes the creamy blue cheese dressing (see recipe here).  It’s topped with crispy bits of pancetta, juicy ripe tomatoes and the best part….finished with a drizzle of balsamic glaze.  It really is incredible.  I usually make these once a week – they are that good.  Perfect for entertaining, this salad is elegant and delicious.  Here is my version…

 

Classic Wedge Salad

1 head of iceberg lettuce, cored and cut into six wedges

12 ounces bacon, cooked crisp and crumbled

2 – 3 tomatoes, chopped

creamy blue cheese dressing (recipe here)

balsamic glaze (I buy mine, but if you have a recipe, I would love for you to share  – it’s something I really want to try making at home)

 

Place wedge of lettuce on a chilled salad plate.  Top with bacon, tomatoes and dressing – finish with a drizzle of balsamic glaze.  Enjoy!

 

I really enjoy re-creating restaurant dishes at home.  This one was a complete success – second only to my Baked Ravioli Al Forno (another re-created restaurant dish).  Definitely give it a try – you will not regret it!

 

Do you re-create restaurant dishes at home?  What are your favorites?  Do you find they are better than the original version?  I’d love to hear from you!

37 thoughts on “The Classic Wedge Salad

  1. I recreated a Shrimp Remoulade Avocado Boat at home – very tasty. I’ll share the recipe on my blog one day…thanks for the idea – and for this great dish, too. ❤

  2. I love iceberg wedges. They’re so crisp and almost meaty, right? Your recipe sounds delicious. What is the restaurant that you mentioned? My favorite iceberg wedge salad is at a restaurant near me in Brooklyn called Talde. It has a bit of a twist. I did a post on it a while back ( Review Day: Talde )

    • The restaurant is called Safari Grille – but they have new owners now, and the menu has changed a bit. I liked your review! That salad looks divine!

      • Guess what we had for dinner last night! I used my Vanilla Fig vinegar for the balsamic part. The dressing was so good I took pictures of all of the ingredients and steps because I know my friends are going to ask me how to make it!

    • I LOVE it! Awesome title…:) Lidia’s recipes are amazing – I will try this one for sure! I can’t even imagine what it would be like if I could make as much of this as I wanted!

      • I halved the recipe, but it literally took all of my willpower not to just eat it all with a spoon. Now that strawberry season is starting I will definitely be making more to dip them in.

      • Oh Yes! I would like to have some strawberry cream cheese stuffed french toast with a little drizzle of balsamic glaze….yum…

  3. Wedge-a-licious! In general I’m not an iceberg fan, but sometimes that crunch is so alluring. In summer I grow a very tasty crisphead for just such occasions.
    *anna

  4. Iceberg got such a bad rap after the 80’s, but it’s really just so crunchy and refreshing! Especially with blue cheese! I am glad to see it coming back on menus and in the home.

    Salad looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

