What To Do With Leftover Ham and Hard Boiled Eggs….Make Bunwiches!

Bunwich!

 

Got leftover Easter ham?  I do!  So what do you do with all the leftovers?  Typically I freeze part of it in small plastic freezer bags to be used for things like omelets, breakfast strata’s and calzones. But…according to my hubby, the best part of the ham is the oven sandwiches (aka Bunwiches!)that I make for us the next day!  It all starts with my grandma’s recipe for homemade sandwich buns (recipe below).  Once baked, I fill them with a mixture of ham, hard-boiled eggs, cheese and a few other ingredients.  The bunwiches are then baked in the in the oven until the cheese is all melty and the rolls get a crispy crust.  So yummy!  They are super easy to put together, and of course you can use any buns you have on hand – including hot dog buns!  I try to make a double batch so that I can keep some in the freezer for an impromptu lunch, dinner or snack.

Sandwich Buns – makes 32

3 packages active dry yeast

1/2 cup warm water

2 tablespoons sugar

Mix the above ingredients  in a large bowl and let sit for 5 minutes while the yeast activates.  Then add:

1 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup sugar

1 tablespoon salt

4 cups warm water

Mix together and add enough all-purpose flour to make a moderately stiff dough, about 10 – 12 cups.  Once mixed, knead dough until smooth and elastic about 7 – 10 minutes.  Place in lightly oiled bowl, cover with a tea towel and let rise in a warm place until doubled in bulk.  Once doubled, punch down dough and form into rolls on lightly oiled baking sheets.  Cover again with a tea towel and let rise until doubled, about 30 minutes.  Bake at 350 degrees for 25 – 30 minutes until nicely browned and hollow when tapped.  These buns can also be wrapped in plastic and stored in a food storage bag in the freezer for later use.

 

Sandwich Buns

Bunwiches

4 cups chopped leftover ham (or 1 1/2 pounds chipped ham)

1 pound shredded colby cheese (you can use any cheese you want here, even velveeta)

1 small onion, finely chopped

6 hard-boiled eggs, peeled and chopped

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1/4 cup chile sauce (I have also made this successfully using ketchup with a little garlic powder added.  Tastes the same as chile sauce)

12 large buns, cut in half horizontally

Mix all ingredients and place in buns.  Wrap each bunwich in foil.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 25 to 30 minutes until heated through and cheese is melted.

Alternatively, once wrapped in foil, you can freeze them. I often make a double batch so that I have them on hand, just remember to thaw before baking.

I hope you love these as much as we do!  I am sure there are other fillings that can be used, what do you suggest? What are your recipes for Easter leftovers?  I would love to hear from you!

3 thoughts on “What To Do With Leftover Ham and Hard Boiled Eggs….Make Bunwiches!

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Hamburger – Blue Cheese and Bacon « A Modern Christian Woman

Leave a comment