Corn and Ham Fritters

Corn and Ham Fritters

 

Have you ever opened up your refrigerator and found a little bit of this and a little bit of that?  Not enough for a meal, but too much to justify  throwing it out?  That happened to me last night – my husband and I were in the mood for a little snack.  I opened up the refrigerator and found some corn and a little ham.  Corn fritters came to mind.  My favorite recipe for corn fritters comes from the Joy of Cooking cookbook – and sure enough they had a recipe for Corn and Ham Fritters.  I love it when that happens!  They turned out great – a perfect combination of savory with a hint of sweetness from the corn.  I served them with a mixture of sour cream and chopped green onion for dipping.

 

Corn and Ham Fritters

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 teaspoon paprika

2 egg yolks

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup creamed corn (I used regular corn)

3/4 cup minced ham

2 tablespoons minced onion

2 tablespoons minced parsley

2 egg whites, beat until stiff

2 inches vegetable oil

In a medium bowl whisk together flour, baking powder, salt and paprika.  In a separate bowl, whisk together egg yolks and milk.  Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and combine.  Fold in the ham, corn, onion and parsley.  Fold in the egg whites.  Heat to 365 degrees in a heavy pot 3 inches of vegetable oil.  Drop the batter (1 tablespoon size) into the oil, a few at a time, and fry until golden brown, 3 -4 minutes.  Drain on a rack or paper towels.

 

This recipe costs under $.70 to make (not included is the cost of the ham because I still have some frozen from easter) – not a bad price for a snack!  I’ve already been thinking of what else I can add to the basic batter – broccoli and cheese, zucchini and parmesan, chicken and mushroom…the possibilities are endless.  I am also planning on making up a batch and freezing them, to see how they work reheated in the oven/toaster oven.

 

What are your favorite frugal snacks?  Did you use a recipe or did you make it up with what you had on hand?  I love hearing your ideas and recipes!  Thanks for sharing!

 

17 thoughts on “Corn and Ham Fritters

  1. Sounds good. Sweetcorn fritters were a staple in my Kiwi childhood, from the Edmonds cookbook. I like them with a Greek Salad as a complete meal. You can now buy frozen ones in the supermarket there, so I don’t see why freezing your own wouldn’t work.

  2. I know you’ve already got five but are you in the market for another kid because, ya know, I could become available real soon. You cook, I’ll do dishes and I won’t even ask for an allowance! 😛

Leave a Reply

