Layered Overnight Summer Salad

Layered Overnight Summer Salad

Summer entertaining should be simple, stress-free and yummy.  This recipe accomplishes all three.  A twist on the classic spinach salad, this make – ahead dish can even be doubled serve a large crowd!  The sweet peas are a nice contrast to the smokey bacon and the bite of onion.  Serve on its own or pair with grilled chicken or fish  – either way, it will quickly become a favorite!

Layered Overnight Summer Salad

1 bag (10 ounces) fresh spinach, torn

4 hard-cooked eggs, sliced

1/2 pound bacon, cooked and crumbled

4 ounces fresh mushrooms, sliced

1/3 cup sliced onion (I used yellow onions, but red would be great here)

1 cup sour cream

1 cup mayonnaise (for my homemade version see here)

1/4 cup lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

5 ounces frozen peas, thawed

In a glass bowl, layer spinach,eggs, bacon, mushrooms and onion.  Combine sour cream, mayonnaise, lemon juice, salt and pepper.   Spread over salad.  Sprinkle with cheese.  Chill for 12 hours or overnight.  Just before serving, add peas and toss. 

What are your favorite summer entertaining dishes?  Do you make them ahead or is cooking part of the entertaining?  I’d love to hear from you!

30 thoughts on “Layered Overnight Summer Salad

  1. Looks/sounds like a great salad. Perfect with grilled fish I’m sure. I’ll try to remember it when the nice weather returns. We eat a lot of stews with rice in the chilly weather this time of year on the other side of the planet. I like your recipes. You’re obviously a good and thoughtful cook. My cooking skills are pretty basic although I do a fine Indian style fried chicken.

    • I do as well when the weather cools down – I actually prefer “cold weather dishes”, things like soups, stews, and other baked dishes. Thanks so much for stopping by today! Have a great day!

  2. This looks delicious! Thanks for visiting my blog. AS you can see, I’m not a cook by nature, but if I find a recipe that looks really good and easy enough, I’m always up for trying new things. I’m following your blog! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

