Simple Beer Bread

Simple Beer Bread

 

There are a lot of recipes for Beer Bread out there – but this one is my favorite.  Quick to put together –  it’s the perfect bread to serve with summer fruits and vegetables for an easy, light meal.  Below is the standard version – but you can omit the baking powder and salt if you use self-rising flour.  I usually don’t have any on hand – so I love that I can make this with regular pantry  ingredients!

This is also a fantastic bread to make croutons out of – the salty, sweet flavor compliments soup and salad well!  I also enjoy it as a dipper for cold spinach dip – the possibilities for this bread are endless!

Simple Beer Bread

3 cups sifted all-purpose flour (or self-rising flour)
3 teaspoons baking powder (omit if using self-rising flour)

1 teaspoon salt (omit if using self-rising flour)

1/4 cup sugar

12 ounces beer (I use light)

1/2 cup butter, melted

In a large bowl, mix flour, baking powder, salt and sugar.  Mix in beer and 4 tablespoons butter.  Pour batter into greased loaf pan.  Drizzle remaining melted butter over the top and bake in a 375 degree oven for 1 hour (until toothpick inserted in the center comes clean).  Let stand for 15 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool.

 

Simple Beer Bread

The total cost to make this bread is $1.52 (including the cost of the beer) – not a bad deal considering you can buy packages of beer bread mix for $5.99 (plus the cost of beer and butter)!  You can also mix the dry ingredients and give as a gift – maybe with a new bread pan or in a lovely mixing bowl!

What are your favorite quick breads to make?  Have you ever given them as a gift?  I’d love to hear from you!

 

 

 

41 thoughts on “Simple Beer Bread

  1. Banana bread is one of my favorite quick breads to give away, though I prefer to go all out and do yeast breads… cinnamon raisin, cranberry nut — great as gifts!

  2. I like zucchini bread, especially this time of year. But I love this one. I’ve never made beer bread, but since we brew our own beer I’m going to give this one a try with some of our own.

  3. I love beer bread! Thank you for the recipe. I like to add a bit of garlic to the dough and sprinkle cheese on top. YUM! I make mini loafs and give them out with homemade jam for gifts.

  4. Throw in a couple of handfuls of grated cheese a few chopped or dried herbs and a bit of chilli (depending on your kids tolerance to it) and you have something heavenly to go with soup. My mum also used this recipe to press onto a well oiled pizza tray (quite thin), topped with pizza accoutraments and baked as a sort of “quick pizza on the run”. Works a treat, not that much different to a normal pizza and as kids we loved it.

  5. That’s odd, I follow your blog, but the last 3 posts didn’t show up. I’ll have to try this one!

      • I don’t know. Lucky I came on to nab your donut/doughnut recipe and saw all your new ones. Just making the third batch now! They are awesome! Will make a post soon.

        I sent my husband to go buy me a can of beer. Might whip that up tonight or in the morning! 🙂

      • Strange! I’m so glad you liked donut recipe! The beer bread is great – I was told today by my husband that I should of made 2! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Junk Food? | Weed'em and Eat'em

  7. My 5yo daughter and I are making it and it’s in the oven right now! I’ll let you know how it went. I’m thinking my loaf pan is a lot smaller than yours, as our great looks about ready to burst over the tin! Everything’s bigger in the States! 😉

Leave a Reply

