Perfect Drop Sugar Cookies

 

Perfect Drop Sugar Cookies

 

 

Baking with my children is one of my favorite things to do – it’s the perfect chance to teach them about where food comes from, and it’s also a great way to spend quality time together.  From the time they were young they have been helping me in the kitchen, baking cookies, bread, pizza – you name it.  These are memories we will always share, and I treasure them!

This recipe is unique because it doesn’t contain butter – it uses vegetable oil.  The resulting cookies are tender and moist with a clean vanilla flavor.  I especially love that these a drop cookies – I don’t have any rolling out to do!  You don’t have to roll them in sugar, but I like the way it looks and I don’t think you can have too much sugar in a sugar cookie!

 

Perfect Drop Sugar Cookies

2 1/2 cups flour

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup sugar

3/4 cup vegetable oil

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

additional sugar

In a large bowl, beat 1 cup sugar and oil together until smooth.  Add in eggs (one at a time), beating well after each addition.  Stir in vanilla.  In a separate bowl, mix flour, baking powder and salt.  Add to the sugar mixture – beat well.  Roll the dough into 1/2 inch balls (I use a melon baller for this) and dip in additional sugar.  Place on a baking sheet and flatten with the bottom of a glass.  Bake at 375 degrees for 10 – 12 minutes until lightly browned.  Let stand for a few minutes to set and cool on wire racks.

The total cost for this recipe is $1.08 and it makes 3 dozen cookies.  I think that’s a great deal – even cheaper than buying a mix at the store!  Plus, the memories are priceless!

 

What are your favorite things you helped bake as a child?  If you have children, what are your favorite things to bake with them?  I’d love to hear from you!

43 thoughts on “Perfect Drop Sugar Cookies

  1. I love cooking with my toddler, though her “hep” often sets us back ten paces, the memories and interactions are worth it. I can’t wait to try these cookies with her!

      • I’ve made it a point to do my best to always welcome and encourage her “hep”. It warms my heart how excited she gets to help me-whether it’s mopping the floors or cooking dinner. Go figure, she’s 2.5 & knows how to put up groceries but still refuses to use the potty!!! Lol!

      • LOL – I so relate! I love this age, they are so excited by helping and it’s so nice to spend that time combining quality time with functional activity!

  2. That’s so great. You know, when you let them help when they are little – they are way more likely to help when they get older. My 15 year old son loves to cook in the kitchen with me and he is always asking to cook on weekends. This past Christmas, he and I made eggnog, and an eggnog cookie. He loves to help. Now if I could only get him to help clean is room. Ha ha.

      • Isn’t that amazing. lol, when it comes to something they want to do it’s easy. He likes to both cook and bake. I am thinking of making these with him soon. They sound delicious.

  3. Your sugar cookies look gorgeous!! Like you, I love cooking and baking with my little guy. We’ve done this since he was a toddler, and it’s a precious time for us to spend together. We love making cookies and pizza together. Some of my fondest memories from my childhood were the times I spent in the kitchen with my mom baking Christmas cookies. We’d make an assortment of cookies, many from family recipes passed down. Mom and I grew closer in our relationship during these times. Thanks for sharing this recipe and your love for cooking with your kids. :0)

    • Thanks! I have those same memories with my mother, and my grandmother – I love passing the tradition on! There are certain things that I bake that remind me so much of my grandmother – I feel like she is close by, even though she passed years ago. I think heirloom recipes and the tradition of cooking together is so important – it bonds a family!

  4. No butter?! But I am super intrigued by a clean vanilla flavor and nice tenderness. These definitely look delicious and I think I have to give this a try. A new kind of cookie for me 🙂

    • No butter! I think that’s why the vanilla seems to come through – but I also have a sugar cookie recipe that uses butter (I use it for making cut-outs during the holidays). I just think this one is easier!

  5. Thank you so much for reading and liking my post. That led me to your site- and I am so glad that it did. What a lovely blog! I look forward to investigating previous posts and following in the future. Sheri

  6. I’m not a sweet lover but these little gems look really pretty and would be delicious dunked in a nice hot cup of tea when you needed a bit of an energy boosting pick me up

  7. Pingback: Sweet Help « 2% Mom

  8. OMG, Stephanie, these look AWESOME. Can’t wait to try them. Bet it’s easier to mix the batter too.

    • I think you are ok if it’s the white whole wheat flour – they might be a little “heavier” but I think it would work ok. If you used half white whole wheat and half regular all-purpose, you wouldn’t notice a difference.

  9. I’ve been enjoying your site so I’m nominating you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for informative, illuminating blog content. I know not everyone participates in blog awards but I hope you’ll at least check it out because it’s a great way to discover new blogs and meet new web friends. If you’re interested in participating, you can check out the details at my site … http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Either way, hope you’re having a great day!

    • Well…there are so many people in and out of my house – the kids, their friends, our friends, family – honestly one batch of anything doesn’t last long! But, I have also been known to freeze a lot of stuff – for example, baked cookies, or the dough etc so I have it on hand just in case we get a crowd! 🙂

    • I love that they are a drop cookie too – much less work! The flavor combinations are endless with this cookie – it’s a great base! If you try them, I’d love to hear what you think of them!

Leave a Reply

