Old-Fashioned Hot Chicken and Mash

First, I would like to thank you all so much for the prayers, condolences and birthday wishes to my little one – I am truly overwhelmed by your thoughtfulness!  It’s a blessing to belong to such a wonderful and kind community!

We made it through the weekend – and now that its over the question is what to do with all the food!  We had so many considerate people send food to our family, I’m trying to figure out how to best utilize it all before it goes bad!

 

Old-Fashioned Hot Chicken and Mash

One of my husband’s favorite things to order when we go out to eat is a “Hot Turkey and Mash” – its white bread topped with sliced turkey and gravy served with a side of mashed potatoes (and more gravy).  I’m not sure if it’s a regional dish, but it’s on every restaurant menu in our area.  This is old-fashioned comfort food – simple to make, yummy to eat and perfect for those days when you just want to be curled up with something warm.   When my hubs saw all the leftover chicken – he asked if I could make his favorite and I couldn’t say no!  The recipe below is for one serving – you can easily adjust the amounts to feed as many people as you need to.

 

Old-Fashioned Hot Chicken and Mash

1 slice white bread

1 cup shredded chicken or turkey

1 cup homemade chicken (or turkey) gravy

1/2 cup mashed potatoes

In a small saucepan, heat shredded chicken and gravy until warm.  Place slice of bread on a plate and top with chicken and gravy mixture.  Serve with mashed potatoes on the side and more gravy if desired.

 

To make 1 serving of homemade gravy: 

In a small saucepan, melt 1 tablespoon of butter.  Add 1 tablespoon flour and whisk together.  Add in 1/2 cup of chicken stock and 1/2 cup of milk.  Bring to a boil, whisking constantly.  Season to taste with salt and pepper. 

 

You can also make these sandwiches with roast beef (or leftover pot roast) and beef gravy – it’s delicious!  In place of the mashed potatoes – it’s also common for people to order these sandwiches with fries on the side (still topped with gravy!), we prefer the mashed potatoes.

 

What are your favorite hot sandwiches?  Are they a regional specialty?  I’d love to hear from you!

 

 

25 thoughts on “Old-Fashioned Hot Chicken and Mash

  1. Haha, it must be a regional thing because I never see anything like this on the menus in my area.
    Looks delish & I appreciate the recipe for making 1 serving of gravy – as I live alone and often am cooking for one.

  2. We use to have roast beef like this. With brown gravy. We called them open face sandwiches. I haven’t had one in years since I moved down south. Hmm, may have to do this. But we put down the bread, then a scoop of mashed potatoes, then laid the meat on top, then covered it in gravy.

  3. When I was in Junior High School (7th, 8th and 9th grades together at that time) in Indiana, they served a similar thing with ground beef as the meat. We disrespectfully, but lovingly referred to as “gravy train.” Also, similar to what is often called “Beef Manhattan.”

    • I’ve never heard of it with ground beef! Although there is a depression era dish from this area using dried chipped beef and a gravy. It’s so interesting to hear about regional dishes!

  4. I’ve had something called a “hot brown” that was an open-faced sandwich of chopped turkey and crispy bacon, drowned in cheese sauce. Pretty yummy. This one sounds good, too!

  5. Looks good! It reminds me of something my dad used to make when I was little. He called it chicken à la king and served it on white bread.

    This recipe really takes me back!

  6. Glad to hear that things are returning to normal for you, Stephanie. My favorite hot sandwiches are po-boys – whatever type of meat and all the fixings loaded onto French bread. Yum! ❤

  7. That brings back memories, It mus be a regional thing, but when I was little, my grandfather would make “turkey hash” every year for breakfast the day after Thanksgiving. I think he learned about it in the military, because it is not on restaurant menus around here.

  8. I love creating recipes from my garden. My recent favorite hot sandwich is turkey-apple-kale with goat gouda and a sprinkle of garam masala, then grilled.

Leave a Reply

