Spicy Maple Caramelized Bacon

Spicy Maple Caramelized Bacon

 

Make your next breakfast a little more special with Spicy Maple Caramelized Bacon!  This is a super simple recipe using maple syrup and spicy cayenne (optional) to give the bacon a little kick.  The best part is that it’s baked in the oven, leaving you “hands free” to make the rest of your breakfast or brunch (easy clean up too)!  I also enjoy it crumbled onto a wedge salad or in a goat cheese BLT.

 

Spicy Maple Caramelized Bacon

1 pound sliced bacon

1/2 cup pure maple syrup

ground cayenne pepper – to taste

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Place bacon in a large baking dish, laying flat in one layer.  Brush bacon with maple syrup.  Bake for 10 – 15 minutes until desired crispness.  Remove to a rack to cool and sprinkle lightly with cayenne pepper if desired. 

 

I love that this recipe uses simple ingredients to make an otherwise “normal” side dish something special.  What are your favorite “special” foods that you serve for breakfast?  I’d love to hear from you!

33 thoughts on “Spicy Maple Caramelized Bacon

  1. I have gained a slight belly bulge over the winter and vowed to lose it. Now this! My goodness does that make my mouth water. I guess I had better take up some form of exercise because I know I won’t be dieting! 😉

  2. There is a restaurant that serves in like this in York, Pa for Sunday brunch. It’s called Maewyns. So yummy! I got back for seconds and end up coming back to the table with only bacon on my plate.

  3. I always cook our bacon in the oven (buy it in bulk when it’s on sale) but I recently bought a single package of a new brand to give a taste test. Gonna use it tonight for BLT’s for dinner…looks like we’re having Spicy Maple BLT’s!! Yumm!!!

  4. This looks great, I can’t wait to try it. I have been eating a lot of pancakes and waffles lately, I’m loving maple syrup. So this should be good.

  5. Oh yum! I’ve sprinkled sugar on top of bacon (candied bacon!) but never maple syrup and cayenne. That sounds so much better! This looks absolutely amazing. I love cooking bacon in the oven too. The strips stay flat and it’s less mess.

  6. Pingback: Fancy-Schmancy Grand Slam Bacon with Lettuce and Tomato Sandwiches | Fantastic Frugal Foods from Justa's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

