Warm German Potato Salad

Warm German Potato Salad

We are in a heat wave in Western PA – so I’ve been on the hunt for mayonnaise-free salads that can hold up under the heat.  This is a great alternative to the Classic American Potato Salad, It’s best served warm or at room temperature, and you don’t have to worry about the mayonnaise turning bad as the temperature soars!

Warm German Potato Salad

2 pounds potatoes, cooked, peeled and sliced

6 slices bacon

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/4 cup chopped celery

1/4 cup pickle relish

1/4 cup chicken stock

1/2 cup cider vinegar

1/2 teaspoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon paprika

1/4 teaspoon dry mustard

chopped chives for garnish

In a large skillet over medium heat, cook bacon slices until crisp – set aside.  Add onion and celery to bacon fat in skillet and cook until tender.  Add  pickle relish and stir to combine.  Stir in stock, vinegar, and spices.  Bring mixture to a boil and lower the heat to simmer for 1 -2 minutes.  Remove from heat and fold in cooked potato slices and bacon (crumbled).  Top with chopped chives.  Enjoy!

This recipe mellows as it sits.  When it’s first made, you can really taste the bite from the vinegar – but as it sits, the flavors come together and the vinegar taste mellows out.  I prefer mine cooled to room temperature before enjoying!

The total cost for this dish is $2.27 – and it serves 6.  Not too bad! The dressing (without the potatoes) is also nice on spinach – it’s a nice twist on a spinach salad!

What are your unique side dishes  for when the weather gets hot?  I’d love to hear from you! 

36 thoughts on “Warm German Potato Salad

  1. I was just at a BBQ last night where a warm German Potato salad was served. The kids were a little hesitant but that just left more for the adults! We all snarfed it down eating 2nd and 3rd helpings! Cant wait to try this!!

  2. Oooh my mom used to make this every summer at least once when we had a BBQ. As a kid I wasn’t so particularly fond of the mustard-vinegar taste but growing up I learned to really love it 🙂 Thanks for brining this up again, it goes straight on my “What to do with all those potatoes”-list 😉

  3. German potato salad is a staple of our family gatherings! My mom and grandmother always use red potatoes, but I’ve been making mine with Yukon Golds lately–definitely recommend trying it!

  4. Looks delish. I actually prefer German Potato Salad to the mayonaisse-y kind. I make a yummy pasta salad for outdoor events. I use the oil that’s already in a jar of artichokes, combine it with more olive oil, fresh squeezed lemon juice, mint and parsley to make the dressing then toss in black olives, tomatoes, roasted peppers, the artichokes and feta.

  5. I’m just starting to make this now. I’ll let you know how it turns out tonight. I’ll take a photo and link to your recipe. 🙂

  6. Reblogged this on Weed'em and Eat'em and commented:
    I found this wonderful recipe Stephanie shared with us bloggers and knew I had to try it. My husband wanted me to make her bacon recipe first. He’ll just have to wait!
    I was able to use some fresh chives from our garden, which is an added bonus!

  7. My Mammaw was German. I remember her liking sausages and sauerkraut, and I think she liked German potato salad, too, though I don’t remember her ever making it for us. I do remember trying her sauerkraut and thinking it was gross, which was funny since I love the stuff now. Same with German potato salad–I had it for the first time at a restaurant in Chicago when I was fourteen. Didn’t like the tang. But now, I love it!

Leave a Reply

