Focaccia With Roasted Onions, Garlic and Cracked Pepper

Focaccia With Roasted Onions, Garlic and Cracked Pepper

 

One more use for those Slow Roasted Raspberry Balsamic Onions and Garlic (recipe here)….Focaccia!  This simple bread makes any meal paired with it extra-special.  I’m serving it tonight along side  pasta and meatballs (recipe here).  I did not add the cheese because I honestly don’t think it needs it – but feel free to add some grated Parmesan or Romano!  Another topping idea is to add some fresh rosemary and/or your favorite olives.  Yum!

Focaccia With Roasted Onions, Garlic and Cracked Pepper

1 package active dry yeast

1 cup warm water

1 teaspoon sugar

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

2 – 2 1/2 cups white all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons salt

olive oil

2 – 3 tablespoons roasted onions and garlic (see here for recipe)

1/2 cup grated parmesan or romano cheese

1/2 teaspoon cracked black pepper (more or less, depending on your taste)

1 teaspoon kosher salt

In a large bowl, dissolve yeast and sugar in warm water.  Let sit for 5 minutes or until mixture is foamy.  Add salt, 2 tablespoons olive oil, whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour.  Add in enough remaining flour until dough is no longer sticky.  Knead until smooth and elastic, about 7 – 10 minutes.  Place dough in an oiled bowl, cover and let rise until doubled – about 1 hour.  Spread dough out onto an oiled baking sheet to 1/2 inch thick.  Press your fingers on the top of the dough to make “dimples”.  Spread onions and garlic over dough.  Top with cracked pepper, salt and cheese if desired.  Drizzle with additional olive oil.  Bake at 400 degrees for 25 minutes, until golden brown.

The total cost for this recipe is $.21 (without cheese and roasted onions and garlic – I left out the cheese, and already had the onions and garlic).   Very frugal!  You cannot buy Focaccia for this price!  It really does pay to make your own!

 

What are your favorite unique breads?  Do you make them or do you buy them?  I’d love to hear from you!

38 thoughts on “Focaccia With Roasted Onions, Garlic and Cracked Pepper

  1. I read your post this morning and ended up making the focaccia tonight to go with a quiche. Very quick and delicious-thanks for sharing the recipe. My topping was caramelized onions and thinly sliced zucchini, with a light dusting of romano cheese. And s&p, of course.

  2. I will really enjoy this! You asked…yes, I do cook breads. But one of my favorite methods is a quick and easy method that actually holds the “wet” dough in the fridge waiting to come out and do a second rise. I can make a good artisan bread really easily. I haven’t tried more complex recipes…but I’m getting inspired! Debra

    • Hi Debra! I often do something similar – if I am short on time, I will sometimes make up the dough and place in the refrigerator to hold until I’m ready. I have also made pizza dough and placed it in the freezer – On the day I am ready to bake it, I put the frozen dough in the refrigerator to thaw, then pull out for the second rise. It’s incredibly helpful to have dough ready and waiting for me! So glad you liked the recipe!

    • I’m so glad you and your family like them! The focaccia is great – we love experimenting with different toppings – my kids have a great time creating new ideas for it!

Leave a Reply

