Apple Cinnamon Coffee Cake

Apple Cinnamon Coffee Cake

 

This coffee cake is really special, and my daughter’s personal favorite.  The combination of sweet apples, spicy cinnamon and tender, moist vanilla cake is too much to resist!  This recipe makes an 8 x 8-inch pan, but is easily doubled into a 9 x 13-inch.  You can also top the apples with a crumb topping instead of using the cinnamon sugar mix – very yummy!

Apple Cinnamon Coffee Cake

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons butter, melted

1 egg

1/2 cup milk

1 1/2 cups thin apple slices (from 1 peeled and cored apple)

1/4 cup sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

In a medium bowl – mix flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt.  In a separate bowl, combine butter, egg, and milk.  Add into flour mixture and stir until just blended.  Pour into greased 8 x 8-inch pan.  Arrange apple slices on top of batter.  Combine 1/4 cup sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle evenly over apple slices.  Bake in a 375 degree oven for about 25 minutes – or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

The total cost for this recipe is $1.75 – a pretty good deal for a deluxe coffee cake!  At my grocery store, coffee cakes start at $3.99 and up – I love that this dish saves money and tastes great!

What are your favorite special breakfast foods?  Do you make them during the week, weekends or special occasions?  I’d love to hear from you!

30 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Coffee Cake

  1. Excellent! I have half a box of heavenly fuji apples a friend gave me from her tree and am running out of ideas for what to do with them (short of making wine…) so this looks like a really great way to use at least a few…thank you!

  2. this cake looks really soft indeed! my special favourite breakfast food would be an Italian cornetto… (sort of like a croissant)… But since I’m still on the hunt for the perfect recipe, I’ll just have to wait till Xmas when I’ll be celebrating back home with my family

  3. I will definitely have to make this over the weekend! I love the addition of the apples, too. My favorite would have to be Æbleskiver. They’re a little time consuming to make and best eaten as soon as you make them so they are a special weekend breakfast treat.

Leave a Reply

