My First Sourdough – Part 1

Sourdough Starter

I have been wanting to try my hand at making sourdough for a long time…but was always put off by the amount of time it takes.  I decided to give it a go today, and hopefully I will be able to post a wonderful homemade sourdough bread recipe later this week!

The first stage of making sourdough is to prepare the starter.  You simply combine 2 cups of warm water, 1 package active, dry yeast and 2 cups all-purpose flour in a large glass jar.  Stir with a wooden spoon (not metal) – and let sit uncovered at room temperature for a few days until the starter bubbles and has a good sour smell.  Each day, stir down the dough.  Use immediately, or refrigerate until ready.

I am mostly confident that I will be able to share a beautiful picture of some fresh, homemade sourdough bread later this week – stay tuned!

Have you ever made sourdough?  If so, how did it turn out?  If not, why?  I’d love to hear from you!

37 thoughts on “My First Sourdough – Part 1

  1. I have the same fears about Sourdough…..but let me know how it goes, I love sourdough but you can’t find it here, and I too have toyed with the idea of making it…..you’ve inspired me to try! Good luck and can’t wait until you post the pics of the bread!

  2. I made sourdough bread for the first time a couple weeks ago, using starter my aunt shared with me. It came out great! The second time I made it it was not so great, though. The starter is still going strong in the fridge and I’ll be making some more today or tomorrow. Good luck!

  3. I’ve seen a few sour dough recipes floating around, but felt the same as you. Too much time, although making it really seems easy. And stirring once a day? So easy! Love that you’re letting us all in on your process. Can’t wait to see how it turns out! 🙂

  4. I haven’t made sourdough starter yet. But this last weekend I was looking through a cookbook with a starter recipe and am considering trying it.The recipe I found uses organic grapes, which I think is interesting. I’ll definitely have to stop by in the days ahead to check out updates on your starter. Can’t wait to see that delicious sourdough bread you’re going to make! :0)

  5. I have a sponge living in my fridge that I’ve had for a few months now. I’ve made several loaves of successful sourdough adapting the recipe for my bread machine. I was thinking of making a scratch loaf with it this week. Did you know that once you have a thriving sponge you can keep it in the fridge in a loosely covered container indefinitely as long as you feed it once a week?

  6. I have nothing but flushing down the toilet stories about sourdough starters I am afraid. I have always tried to harvest wild yeast but due to my husbands manic desire to turn everything into wine, I think that the little wine beasties have taken over my kitchen and wait with knife and fork in hand for anything that gets left out for more than a day. I ended up with dead bright orange vinegar to be honest and that is NO-ONES idea of wholesome! I will use your yeast method I think. Does this go on perpetually like wild sourdough starter? I mean do you just feed it from now on or do you have to keep adding yeast or something like that? Cheers for making sourdough and for keeping us posted. I will be watching closely as will many others for the first signs of success and then we will jump on the bandwagon. Cheers for being our own personal experimentrix 😉

    • Oh no! That sounds crazy! I am not adding any yeast at this point, just stirring it down daily (it’s been 2 days) and I added some flour to it today to feed it – I am really anxious to see how it goes! I will keep you all posted!

  7. I made my starter from scratch once only with rye flour, honey and water. It took a week or so before it was active but it made a delicious bread but you need to feed the starter everyday and we went on vacation so I will have to re-try it again at some stage

  8. You are so brave! I’ve never tried it, too much time involved in the whole process. One of the great advantages of this time in history is we no longer need to grow our own yeast to produce a loaf of bread. Good luck!

  9. I’ve started two bread starters thus far, both ended up getting neglected, and sadly, getting washed down the drain. The last one lasted about 6 months, though, and produced about 7 loaves! It’s been a few weeks and I think I’m ready get another one going. Why a wooden spoon instead of a metal one?

    • Some say that if you use a metal spoon it might react with the acids from the starter you are creating and eventually contaminate and kill the starter – Since this is my first starter, I thought it best not to take any chances!

  10. I have managed to keep the same 100% sourdough starter alive in my refrigerator for nearly 8 years and it has given me some amazing breads. As a warning, it took me two weeks to get it really active and not yucky smelling, and though I can leave it dormant for over 6 months, you always want to refresh it 3 times before you try to bake with it. Otherwise you will wind up with REALLY sour bread. Even if you think it’s dead, keep refreshing it and it will get puffy. I have also found that it was easier to take care of when I converted it to a scrap dough-like thing, rather than a batter… If you don’t have it already, get a hold of Maggie Glezer’s Artisan Bread Baking Across America, and you will never run out of delicious ways to use it. Enjoy!!!

    • Thank you so much for the tips! 8 years – that’s incredible! I am hoping this first batch will come out great and like you, I will be able to keep this on hand! Thanks for stopping by and again for all the tips – I really appreciate it!

  11. Pingback: My First Sourdough – Part 2 « A Modern Christian Woman

  12. Pingback: Page not found « A Modern Christian Woman

  13. Pingback: sourdough: take 2 « Will Cook For Food

  14. Oh, I’m excited to follow how this went for you – I’ve always wanted to try making sourdough but haven’t – you may have inspired me! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog, too!

Leave a Reply

