Oatmeal Banana and Brown Sugar Waffles

Oatmeal Banana and Brown Sugar Waffles

 

I have wanted to try using oats in my waffles for a long time.  Now I wish I had tried sooner – these turned out fantastic!  The oats are slightly chewy, which is perfect with the bananas and brown sugar.  These are best served with warm maple syrup – it really compliments all the flavors.  I also like mine with a side of crispy, salty bacon – but you can serve them however you like!

 

Oatmeal Banana and Brown Sugar Waffles

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup old-fashioned oats

3 tablespoons brown sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup sour cream

1 cup milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 eggs

4 tablespoons butter, melted

2 ripe bananas, mashed

In a mixing bowl, combine oats, flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and spices.  In a separate mixing bowl, combine sour cream, milk, vanilla, eggs, butter and bananas.  Whisk together.  Add in the dry ingredients and stir to combine.  Let the batter sit for 5 minutes to soften the oats and thicken.  Cook in a waffle maker (I used my Belgian waffle maker and it takes about 1/3 cup of batter to make each waffle) until browned and waffles begin to crisp (mine only takes 3 minutes – yours may take more or less time).  Serve hot with warm maple syrup.  Enjoy!

This recipe makes between 6 – 8 waffles, depending on the size of your waffle maker.  The total cost is $1.91 – not the most frugal recipe – but more affordable than purchasing specialty waffles  from the frozen food section or going out to eat!

 

What are your favorite breakfast foods?  Do you prefer cold or hot breakfasts?  Do you make different things during the week than you do on the weekends?  I’d love to hear from you!

 

 

 

27 thoughts on “Oatmeal Banana and Brown Sugar Waffles

  1. These sound amazing! I’ve been meaning to try using oats in a few different baking ventures also–this may have to be the first 🙂

  2. I make oatmeal pancakes all the time, but whenever I have tried using oats in waffle batter, everything sticks to the iron, even when I spray with olive oil. I will give your recipe a try and see if your ingredients react differently with my waffle iron than my recipes.

    • Please let me know how they turn out! Sometimes, if my batter sticks – I leave it in the waffle maker for a few minutes longer, once they are browned nicely – they shouldn’t stick.

  3. Pingback: Caramel Pear Butter « A Modern Christian Woman

Leave a Reply

