Homemade Potato Chips – In the Microwave!

Homemade Potato Chips – In the Microwave!

 

This is one of those recipes that seems to have taken the internet by storm – so of course I had to try it!  I was highly skeptical, because I didn’t think you could get crispy potato chips if you didn’t fry or bake them.  It turns out I was wrong!  These are incredible! We made tons of them, experimenting with different seasonings.  Our house favorite is the dry rub I use for my Spice Grilled Chicken.  A close second was parmesan garlic. You simply must try these, if you haven’t already!

 

Homemade Potato Chips – In the Microwave!

This is more of a method, than an actual recipe.  Take 1 (or more) potatoes, scrub them and slice paper-thin (you can leave the skins on, or peel them).  The easiest way to do this is with a mandolin – I don’t have one, so I used a sharp knife and cut them as thin as I could.  Place the slices in a bowl of ice water and let sit for a few minutes.  This helps remove the starch from the potatoes – this makes a crisper chip.  Pat potato slices dry and place on a lightly oiled baking dish that fits in the microwave.  I used an 8 x 8-inch dish.  Sprinkle with salt and/or other desired spices.  Cook on high (100% power) for 2 – 8 minutes (it all depends on how your microwave cooks, mine took 4 minutes for the first batch, 3 for each additional batch – thicker slices will take longer).  The chips are done when they are browned and crisp.  Remove carefully and let cool on a wire rack.  Enjoy!

 

The cost to make 4 potatoes into chips is $.97 (not including the spices) – not bad, but not as affordable as the store-bought kind.  They do taste better and are a much healthier alternative!  I really hope you try these – they are so very good!

 

What are your favorite “internet sensation” snacks?  Do you make them often?  I’d love to hear your ideas and tips!

64 thoughts on “Homemade Potato Chips – In the Microwave!

  1. Well, I *think* you could call it an “internet sensation” snack… fish fingers and custard!

    The reason: I’m a huge fan of Doctor Who, and the Eleventh Doctor’s first episode has him eating what appears to be fish fingers dipped in custard! Many fans have since tried this and it’s actually quite tasty 🙂

    • That’s actually where I first heard about the concept of making chips in the microwave – I thought if I can use their maker, why couldn’t I do it myself? I’m so glad it worked!

  2. Oh wow! These sound great. I can’t wait to try some different seasoning combinations.

    As far as my favorite “internet sensation” snack…I’m gaga over “fried” pickles! They are breaded and baked (not fried) and oh so good

  3. Holy. Wow. I was just talking about homemaking potato chips.

    1. Do the potatoes need to be laid flat so there is only one layer or can you pile them all willy nilly?
    2. Lightly oiled? As in: a small tablespoon run around, or a cooking spray layer, or wipe with a paper towel?
    3. Do the potatoes need to be oiled? Or just sprinkled with seasoning?

    Yeah, I’m planning on making these. 😀

    • 🙂 They need to be one layer – this way the crisp on both sides – I used 1 – 2 teaspoons of oil and rubbed it around with a paper towl. I found I didn’t need to add more until the fourth batch, but you may want to check as you go. I didn’t oil the potatoes, but I imagine you could if you wanted to – I also think you could just spray the pan with cooking spray and it would work just as well! I would love to hear how yours turn out!

  4. I wouldn’t normally like this due to the fact I hate microwaves. But being Irish I LOVE potatos hahahaha, also the health aspect is of uber importance….in todays, E-numbered, perservative loving food industry.. The method and presentation is amazing…. very good. I wonder if you could do this with a dehydrator for a RAW experience… A++

  5. Fascinating. I hope people will start buying these and stop buying those awful tasting and totally processed baked chips

  6. I need to try this! My friend has been using a dehydrator and it takes her 12 hours to get potato chips…

  7. I tried them today. I used my potato peeler to get nice thin slices. They tasted wonderful, but I couldn’t get them to crispy up right. Oh well. Try, try again.

  8. Well, I know what’s going to help me procrastinate now, potato and microwave experiments!
    My favourite Internet sensation recipe is chocolate mousse made with just chocolate and water. I heard about it from a friend. Just melt chocolate, add some water and whisk the dickens out of it until it forms mousse. Not as good as real mousse but great if you are like me and want chocolate mousse 24/7.

  9. Thank you for visiting my blog. Glad you ‘liked’ the Cheese Chicken recipe.

    I love potato chips, and will be trying your homemade potato chips first. Your desserts look amazing. They will be my next stop 🙂

      • Thanks, Stephanie. We use different types of seasoning for potato chips. Red chilli powder and salt; salt and chaat masala ; salt, garam masala and red chilli powder. Garam masala is a combination of cardamom, cloves, cinnamon, pepper and fennel seeds (saunf). Garam masala and chaat masala are usually available at Indian stores.

  10. I was craving potato chips today and I opened a package from the store. ugh! didn’t turn out well. I’m totally going to try this recipe! should be better than the store bought version.

Leave a Reply

