Cornmeal Crusted Shrimp…and Some Vegetables

Cornmeal Crusted Shrimp and Vegetables

 

Last night we decided to skip pizza night and have a barbecue.  My hubby grilled up some steaks and I thought some fried shrimp would be great to go with it!  I love this cornmeal crust – it stays crispy, has a little bit of spice and you can use it on anything!  Once I made the shrimp, my kids requested onion rings and jalapeno slices…Yummy!  This crusted shrimp would also make a fantastic shrimp taco, topped with a nice slaw.

 

Cornmeal Crusted Shrimp and Vegetables

For the breading…

1 1/2 cups cornmeal

1/2 cup flour

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (more or less depending on how much heat you like)

1 cup buttermilk

assorted things to bread (I used about 1 pound shrimp, shelled and deveined, 2 thinly sliced onions and 5 sliced jalapenos)

 

Place buttermilk in a shallow baking dish.  In another baking dish, combine flour, cornmeal and spices.  Place shrimp (or veges) in buttermilk and then dip into the cornmeal mixture.  Shake off excess and fry in 2 inches of vegetable oil heated to 365 degrees until golden brown.  Serve with lemon wedges and additional hot sauce, if desired.  The process is the same for the onion rings and the jalapenos – we serve those with homemade ranch).

 

Cornmeal Crusted Onion Rings and Jalapenos

 

I love this because it is much more cost efficient to make your own fried snacks than to buy them in the frozen food section!  Plus you can control the spices and the salt content – very important!

Do you have a favorite fried snack or appetizer?  Do you find it’s cheaper to make your own version than to buy it?

I’d love to hear from you!  You guys have some really great ideas – keep them coming, they are much appreciated!

 

24 thoughts on “Cornmeal Crusted Shrimp…and Some Vegetables

  1. I might have to try this. My husband loves shrimp. I don’t really care for it, but I do like breaded shrimp better. So maybe this will work for both of us. My favorite breaded treat is homemade chicken nuggets… so delicious and better for you too.

  2. I’m going to try that with some fish I have in the freezer. Oooo….what about big, fat onion rings! Yummmmmm! And I love to chop up chipotle peppers with my ketchup. So spicy and scrumptious.

Leave a Reply

