Mostly Whole Wheat Bread – In a Slow Cooker!

One of the things that I try to avoid is using my oven during the summer – it really heats up my house.  Since I don’t have a bread maker, I have been searching for an alternative way to bake homemade bread without making my house unbearable!  I came across a recipe for baking it in a slow cooker from the book “Fix It and Forget It” by Dawn Ranck and Phyllis Pellman Good – great book, I’ve adapted quite a few recipes from it.

The bread turned out great –  although the next time I make it, I will need to find a better baking dish.  As the bread bakes, it forms to whatever container you place it in – I used a disposable foil baking sheet (I didn’t have a loaf pan small enough for my slow cooker).  Next time, I want to try making it in a large coffee tin.

It sliced well, and I served it warm with my Simple Baked Apple Butter (recipe here).  I hope you try it – it’s wonderful how easy it is!

Whole Wheat Bread

2 cups warm milk

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

1/4 cup honey or brown sugar

3/4 teaspoon salt

1 package active dry yeast

2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

Mix together milk, oil, honey, salt, yeast and half the flour.  Beat together for 2 minutes.  Add in remaining flour – mix well.  The dough will be very wet and soft.  Place dough in a well-greased bread or cake pan that will fit into your slow cooker.  Cover with well-greased tin foil (very important).  Place in slow cooker.  Cover cooker and bake on high for 2 1/2 – 3 hours.  Remove pan and uncover.  Let stand for 5 minutes.  Serve warm.

The things I love most about this recipe is that it took almost no time to put together and I didn’t have to turn on the oven! I definitely will be trying out more recipes like this one!  In particular, I am working on baking my Hearty Oatmeal Molasses Bread in the same manner.

The total cost for one loaf of this bread is $.65 – VERY budget friendly!  You can’t buy bread for that price!

What types of things do you make in your slow cooker?  Have you ever tried baking bread or other baked goods in yours?  I’d love to hear from you!

You might also like:

English Muffin Bread

49 thoughts on “Mostly Whole Wheat Bread – In a Slow Cooker!

  1. What a great idea! Who doesn’t own a crockpot, right? My breakmaker died years ago, and I never got around to replacing it.

  2. Wow! I’m going to try this. I do pretty much traditional kinds of meals in the slow cooker. One thing I did during the summer helped with some of the dishes I made. I took the overabundance of summer squash and onions and garlic from our garden and sauteed them, seasoning well with dried and fresh herbs. I then froze batches (approximately 2 pints per bag). All through the winter, if I wanted to start a soup or a stew I just threw one of those bags into the slow cooker as my starter. No need to chop onions, etc. It was a real time saver.

  3. I’ve never had a bread machine- so this idea excites me because not only will I not need to use my oven in the summer- I also don’t have to be painfully patient and careful about waiting for my bread to rise. 🙂 Thanks so much for posting this! PS: What is “high” on your crockpot in terms of temperature? I just don’t want to ruin it if I try it…

    Thanks!

    • To my understanding, low is 200 degrees and high is 300 degrees – However, according to the crockpot.com website the difference between high and low is how long it takes for the food to get to the “simmer point” – If you try making this, I would love to hear what you think of it!

  4. What a great idea! I have that same cookbook, so will look that recipe up. Your apple butter also looks amazing. Thanks for stopping by foodforfun. I look forward to reading more of your discoveries.

  5. Pingback: Cinnamon Swirl Bread « A Modern Christian Woman

    • I think you can use any type of pan that fits – I didn’t have any so I ended up using the disposable tin pans because you can kind of mold them to fit….I am on the lookout for a less temporary solution!

  6. Wow! I never knew you could make bread in a slow cooker! I live in a tiny studio apartment, so baking in the summertime is not pleasant. I am definitely going to try this!

  7. I love to make home made bread and have had to stop since my oven broke. I will have to try putting the bread in a small bread pan instead of straight in the crock pot like the other recipes I have tried. Thanks for the recipe and idea!

  8. This is wonderful! I make my banana bread in the slow cooker and it’s the best — but I haven’t tried regular bread in it… looks like I’ll be doing that now, with your inspiration!

  9. I have got to tell my husband about this, he is the one who likes to make bread. I never would have thought to use a slow cooker. I might surprise him and try it. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Pingback: Peanut Butter and Hot Fudge Pudding Cake « A Modern Christian Woman

  11. Pingback: Slow Cooker Lemon Blueberry Pudding Cake « A Modern Christian Woman

Leave a Reply

