The Modern Pantry List

There are many benefits to keeping a stocked pantry.  One of them is that you know exactly what you have on hand – no more accidental duplicates!  I keep a list of everything I have in the cupboards, refrigerator and freezer.  This way I know what I have, what I need and what needs used up before it goes bad.  This (along with monthly menu planning) has helped me tremendously in keeping my grocery costs down.  This is my complete pantry list.  When I do my grocery shopping, I make a list of what I’m running low on and then add fresh fruit, vegetables and meat.  Easy!

The Cooking From Scratch Pantry

Milk

Buttermilk

Butter

Eggs

CheesesParmesan, Romano, Cheddar, Mozzarella or Provolone, Cream, Feta, Blue

Sour Cream

Yogurt plain

Heavy Cream I use this for making half and half and coffee creamer

Grains – White, Wheat, Bread, Cornmeal, Oatmeal, Barley

SweetenersWhite Sugar, Brown Sugar, Powdered Sugar, Maple Syrup, Molasses, Honey

OilsOlive, Vegetable, Sesame

Dried BeansBlack, Cannelini, Red Kidney, Garbanzo, Lentils

PastaCouscous, Linguini, Rigatoni, Shells, Elbows

RiceWhite, Brown, Jasmine

Canned TomatoesPaste, Crushed, Diced, Whole

Vinegars Red Wine, Apple Cider, Balsamic

Baking Ingredients Baking Soda, Baking Powder, Cornstarch, Cocoa, Evaporated Milk, Sweetened Condensed Milk, Light and Dark Corn Syrup, Shortening, Yeast

Olives assorted green and black

TunaPacked in Water

Nut ButtersPeanut, Almond

Jellies, Jams and Preserves Assorted Homemade

Basic ProducePotatoes, Onions, Garlic, Lemons, Limes, Bananas, Apples, Celery, Carrots, Bell Peppers, Parsley

SpicesSalt, Pepper, Cayenne, Red Pepper Flakes, Ground Mustard, Cumin, Coriander, Chili Powder, Sage, Thyme, Rosemary, Bay Leaf, Basil, Oregano, Nutmeg, Ground Ginger, Allspice, Clove, Cinnamon, Cream of Tartar, Dill, Paprika, Tumeric, Celery Salt

ExtractsPure Vanilla, Anise, Almond

Condiments Ketchup, Mustard, Mayonnaise, Worcestershire Sauce, Barbecue Sauce, Dijon Mustard, Soy Sauce, Tahini, Hot Sauce, Pickles, Relish, Jarred Hot Peppers

FreezerGinger, Spinach, Peas, Corn, Bacon, Homemade Chicken and Beef Stock

MiscellaneousPopcorn Kernels, Bread Crumbs, Coffee, Assorted Tea

If you are new to keeping a stocked pantry, I would suggest that you start slowly, adding items a little at a time.  This keeps your grocery budget in check.  Tomorrow I will be sharing with you my list of “per-serving” costs for the above list – it’s a great tool for menu planning and budgeting!  Stay tuned!

 

Do you keep a stocked pantry?  Has it helped with your grocery budget?  How?  I’d love to hear from you!

16 thoughts on “The Modern Pantry List

  1. Fabulous list! I too have a stocked pantry! I tried keeping a list going on my computer but ended up moving it to an actual paper notebook and has found that works best. My pantry inventory and price notebook are the same thing and they work together well because I can see how much I have at the same time that I’m comparing prices. I don’t know how we would survive the Greek crisis if we didn’t have the pantry!!! It has been a total lifesaver for us!

    • My pantry has come in handy quite often as well! You never know when you will need to rely on what you already have. I prefer mine on paper too – I once had it on my computer, but my hard drive crashed and I lost everything! Horrible!

  2. Yes, I, too, keep a stocked pantry. I would much prefer cooking from scratch – less expensive, more healthful, and I don’t run out of stuff I need to cook almost anything. My MawMaw taught me that! ❤

    • I really like cooking from scratch – and it seems the more I do, the easier it becomes! It’s also a great thing to teach the next generation, self-sufficiency!

  3. Hi Stephanie,

    Oh yes…I definitely keep a stocked pantry. It is the way I cook. I find meal planning, etc. just doesn’t work for me. Based on how I was taught to cook by my mom, it’s just easier for me to look at what I have on hand and decide what to make for dinner each night. Also, not meal planning…allows me to shop for what’s on sale or in season (usually means the same thing. 🙂 )…and to also buy what looks good to me a the Farmer’s Market on Sunday which occurs in our town after Sunday Mass.

    Cooking in this way always helps me to stay withing my food budget.

    Love,
    Mary

    • That’s a great way to do it! I’m finding there are so many ways to keep to the food budget – it’s just a matter of finding what works for the individual!

  4. Another strong believer in a well-stocked pantry here. Here is one of my pantry dishes – ideal if, for example, you have been away for the weekend and get back late and fancy a tasty bite to eat. I’ll have to think of a new name for it – we call it tuna goo 🙂

    Pantry Pasta Sauce

    Ingredients: (does 2 hungry people or 3 normal people)
    500 g dried pasta (shells or tubes are good)
    1 x 200 g can tuna (drained)
    1 x 400 g can chopped tomatoes
    1 carrot (also mushrooms, red pepper, courgette/zucchini if you happen to have these in your fridge)
    1 onion (and 1 clove garlic, if you have or like)
    1 cup frozen peas
    salt, pepper, dried oregano
    parmesan
    sunflower oil

    Method: I’m sure you can guess what comes next!
    Boil the kettle to heat water for the pasta. Put the pasta on, and while it is at a rolling boil-
    Chop the onion (and garlic) and saute it in sunflower oil. When it is translucent add the chopped carrot and other fresh vegetables. Then add the tuna, chopped tomatoes, frozen peas and seasoning. Simmer the sauce until the pasta is ready. Mix the sauce with the pasta, and serve with freshly grated parmesan.

    Total time: ~ 20 minutes. Quicker, cheaper, and healthier than a take-away (take-out?)!

    Tip: A drop of balsamic vinegar and a teaspoon of brown sugar gives it a richer taste.

  5. By the way, I also usually have a pound of mince (ground beef) in the freezer. It is a very versatile ingredient that can be bulked out with pantry ingredients to make a dinner. Shepherd’s pie, meatloaf, spaghetti bolognese, burgers…

Leave a Reply

