Old-Fashioned Chocolate Pie (No Bake)

Old-Fashioned (no-bake) Chocolate Pie

Before there were pudding mixes, this was the “no-bake” way to make chocolate pie.  Rich, silky and full of chocolate flavor – the filling takes 5 minutes to make. Perfect served with whipped cream, this chocolate pie is elegant enough for guests yet easy enough to serve during the week.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Pie

1 cup sugar

1/3 cup baking cocoa

1/4 cup flour

pinch of salt

2 1/4 cup water

1 tablespoon butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 pre-baked pie shell, cooled (see here – use 1/2 recipe)

In a large saucepan, combine sugar, cocoa, flour and salt.  Add water and cook over medium heat until mixture comes to a boil.  Cook and stir for one more minute until thick.  Remove from heat and stir in butter and vanilla.  Pour into pie shell.  Refrigerate for 2 – 3 hours , or until firm enough to slice.  Serve with freshly whipped cream.

The total cost of this pie was around $1.50 (I buy my cocoa, flour and sugar in bulk).  I think that is amazing!  Frugal and yummy – the best of both worlds!  In my grocery store, you can buy a pre-made chocolate pie for $4.99 (it comes with whipped cream).  As you can see the store-bought kind costs significantly more and it’s full of preservatives and additives.  Not something I want to serve my family!

What are your favorite frugal desserts?  Do you prefer them to the store-bought kind?  I’d love to hear from you!

45 thoughts on “Old-Fashioned Chocolate Pie (No Bake)

  1. This looks delish!

    We eat a lot of apple crisp around here when apples are in season. Now that I think about it we don’t eat a lot of desserts, which is probably a good thing. I do like a good chocolate cake though. Mmm…

  2. my favourite frugal dessert is Hedgehog slice, basically a chocolate slice thats made with butter sugar cocoa, egg crushed biscuits and coconut and topped with chocolate. Apart from the cooking chocolate and biscuits I have all these ingredients at home the whole time, and you can use the cheapest biscuits you can get your hands on, doesn’t matter!

  3. You’re killing me with these amazingly simple recipes, Stephanie. I have a wedding coming up with a form-fitting dress to wear (and trust me, the form’s not all that awesome on my best day, lol). This one looks too good to pass up–now pair both with this choc and PB fan–I’m doomed.

  4. Hei there Stephanie 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my blog because otherwise I would probalby not have found your sweet little space!

    I really love your experiment of making everything from scratch. Ever since a friend of mine enlisted to me all the gross facts about additives and conservatives I very seldomly buy any pre-packaged things, much rather make my own bread, rolls, etc so I know what’s going into them. And it also helps to reduce a lot of plastic waste most pre-packaged things already come in.

    Oh and the chocolate pie looks so delicious! Definitely goes on my list 😉 But could you check the link to the pie shell, please? It won’t open for me 😦

  5. As always, another wonderful recipe and photo. I could make this when I get home tonight but I have been given strict instructions to ease up on the sweets. My partner and his trousers are growing apart and he’s not happy 🙂

  6. Thanks for the ‘like’ on one of my recent posts, and I’m so glad it led me to discover your blog. This recipe in particular drew me in because I’m always on the look out for tasty no-bake recipes. My kitchen that of a typical old-school Parisian apartment meaning that there are just two hot plates and a rickety temperamental oven, so I’m excited to give this chocolate pie recipe a go. It looks delicious!

  7. Heya Stephanie! Tonight was my night to sit back, relax and read through my favourite blogs. You’re two for two as I also happen to love chocolate pie. Oh, if only I had more time in the kitchen to make every yummy recipe that comes my way!! Thank you, thank you. Kim

    • Hi Kim! Your welcome! I’ve been checking out your blog – very nice! I’m looking forward to trying out some of your recipes as well – I love all the stories that go with them, I’m learning a lot – Thanks!

Leave a Reply

