Cinnamon Swirl Bread

Cinnamon Swirl Bread

I love toast – and this bread makes the most wonderful toast.  Slightly sweet with a touch of cinnamon, it’s fantastic with fresh butter and equally good turned into french toast.  I usually make two of these because the first one disappears rather quickly!  This recipe has been adapted from the “Joy of Cooking” cookbook.

Cinnamon Swirl Bread

1/4 cup warm water

1 package active dry yeast

1 cup warm milk

5 tablespoons melted butter

3 tablespoons sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon salt

4 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 cup sugar

1 tablespoon cinnamon

2 tablespoons butter, softened

1 egg

In a large bowl, mix water and yeast until yeast is dissolved.  Add milk, butter, sugar, egg and salt.  Stir well.  Mix in two cups of the flour.  Gradually add in the remaining flour until dough comes together and is no longer sticky.  Knead on a floured surface until smooth and elastic, about 7 – 10 minutes.  Place in an oiled bowl, cover and let rise until doubled – about 1 hour.  Punch down dough and roll into a 8 x 18-inch rectangle.  Spread with softened butter and sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar.  Roll up dough and pinch ends closed.  Place seam side down in a lightly greased loaf pan.  Cover and let rise again until doubled, about 1 hour.  Whisk egg and brush over surface of bread.  You can sprinkle the top with additional cinnamon and sugar if desired.  Bake at 375 degrees for 40 minutes until nicely browned and cooked through.   Makes 1 loaf.

This recipe cost $1.30 to make – my local grocery store sells cinnamon bread for $3.99 in the bakery section.  This is a much better deal!  I have often made the dough at night and pulled it out of the refrigerator for the second rise in the morning.  I can’t think of a better smell to wake up to than homemade bread (except maybe coffee)!

What are your favorite breakfast breads?  Do you start them the night before or do you make it in the morning? I’d love to hear from you!

You might also like:   Homemade Cinnamon Rolls

Hearty Oatmeal Molasses Bread

Mostly Whole Wheat Bread

Garlic Cheese Bread

 

86 thoughts on “Cinnamon Swirl Bread

  1. Your cinnamon swirl bread looks gorgeous and it sounds as though it would make a wonderful breakfast. I think breakfast bread has to be a bit of a treat and my favourite would have to be freshly made bagels. As soon as my brother and I took over the cooking of Christmas lunch, I decided I would use the early wake up to make smoked salmon bagels, ready for a special Christmas breakfast. Thanks for sharing the great cinnamon swirl bread recipe

  2. That sounds delicious! My favorite breakfast bread is banana chocolate chip. I definitely make my breakfast breads the night before. I am a late night baker after everyone’s gone to bed. There’s something relaxing to bake at the end of the day to some soft jazz or classical fusion.

    • I agree – it’s also relaxing knowing that breakfast is already taken care of…one less thing to worry about! Banana chocolate chip bread sounds divine…I might be trying it out this weekend!

  3. I’ve been making cinnamon rolls from two different recipes. One recipe uses mashed potatoes as a combination with the flour and it turned really nice. 🙂

    I might try this one day. Thanks for sharing it. 🙂

  4. This recipe looks perfect for a weekend breakfast – really like the idea of using whole-wheat flour, too.
    Jen

      • Wow…your rolls are perfect. I guess that’s what comes with making them religiously. 🙂 I’d never eaten them or made them before my attempt and they were declious. I couldn’t stop eating them either. After the first time though, I ended up dividing the dough in half to make 2 rectangles. It made smaller, easier to eat rolls.

      • I’ve just been checking out your blog a bit more and just wanted to say…you’re a girl after my own heart. Love your style of cooking and the idea of cooking from scratch.
        I’m a big believer that cooking doesn’t have to be complicated or expensive. Just real.
        PS…you’re recipes have made me sooo hungry. 🙂

      • Thank you so much! I so agree – cooking shouldn’t be complicated or even expensive – you can make a lot out of basic pantry ingredients! I love to cook – I think because I’m always hungry!

  5. I enjoy baking bread especially homemade bread. I can just imagine how the entire house will smell so wonderful with the cinnamon in this bread. I look forward to trying this soon.

  6. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  7. another great recipe, made it tonight and will enjoy it to its fullest tomorrow morning 😀 however the first “test-slice” was a real treat, fluffy, slightly sweet and with lots of my fave spice: cinnamon
    thank you very much!

  8. Pingback: Happy Mother’s Day! Strawberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast « A Modern Christian Woman

  9. Oh my! This bread looks delicious. I have a thing for bread, I could eat just bread the whole day but since I am on a diet it’s not an advantage so I will keep this for a treat day 🙂 You blog is filled with with great recipes!

  10. Nice! If you cut in slice the dough once rolled you will have instead something very similar to kanelbullar (swedish cinnamon buns) which are also absolutely amazing for a breakfast 🙂

  11. Hi Stephanie! Cinnamon bread is one of my favourite breakfast treats. I’m giving this recipe a go this weekend – thanks for posting. The bread I make every week and have most morings is Irish Brown Bread. You can find my recipe under Brown Soda Bread for America at my blog at http://www.inanirishhome.wordpress.com. If you make it, let me know…would love your feedback. Many thanks. Kim

    • Hi Kim! I just checked out the recipe – it looks fantastic! I will be trying it out this weekend and will let you know! I think it’s gonna be great!

  12. I have a great Skiier’s French Toast recipe that uses cinnamon bread. I haven’t blogged about it yet. When I do, I’ll try to remember to send you a note. Your kids would love it. (it’s the only french toast my kids know) You make it the night before so it’s super easy in the morning. D

  13. Wow. I too have made this lovely loaf. It is such a nice one! It is always nice to meet a fellow bread baker… where did you get your culinary degree? I use to live near a johnson and wales. The pastry department always interested me so much.

    • Here in Pittsburgh at Pennsylvania Institute of Culinary Arts – they have since been bought out by Le Cordon Bleu. Thanks for stopping by – come back again!

  14. Reblogged this on A Common Life and commented:
    This looks great. Finding a swirl bread that doesn’t gap can be tricky. I think this blog will be one I start reading more often :).

  15. If instead of cinnamon and sugar you use cinnamon sauce, you can make excellent sticky buns this way – just cut the roll up and prove the buns swirl side up in a large tin, and bake as normal.

Leave a Reply

