Au Gratin Potatoes and Ham

Au Gratin Potatoes and Ham

Whenever I’m asked to bring a side dish to a potluck or family gathering – this is almost always what I bring.  You can’t beat the combination of potatoes, ham and cheese.  It’s easy to make, and even better to eat!  You can make this in the oven or slow cooker – it can even be made the day before and baked when you need it.  Very simple and very good.

Au Gratin Potatoes and Ham

8 medium potatoes, peeled and thinly sliced

1 small onion, diced

1 cup cooked ham, diced

3 tablespoons butter

3 tablespoons flour

3 cups milk

2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1/4 teaspoon dried mustard

pinch of cayenne (more if you like it spicy)

salt and pepper to taste

In a medium saucepan, melt butter and stir in flour. Whisk in milk and add mustard, salt, pepper and cayenne.  Continue whisking until mixture is thick and comes to a boil.  Remove from heat and add cheese.  Stir until melted.  In a buttered casserole dish place a layer of potatoes, top with half the onions and half of the ham.  Spread half of the cheese sauce on top.  Repeat layers with remaining ingredients.  Bake at 375 degrees for 1 to 1 1/4 hours, until potatoes are tender and sauce is bubbly and lightly browned.  Enjoy!

Hint:  Sometimes I par-boil my potatoes if I am short on time – then it only takes about 40 minutes to cook.  I have also made this in the slow cooker on the low setting for 4 – 6 hours.

I realize that you can buy boxes of Au Gratin Potatoes for pretty cheap – but they do not compare to the real thing!  This is a very satisfying meal when paired with some broccoli or a green salad or both.  This recipe costs $4.00 to make and serves 4 as a main dish.

Do you have a meal you like to make for a potluck or family gathering?  Can it be made in advance? I’d love to hear from you!

23 thoughts on “Au Gratin Potatoes and Ham

  1. I’m not a big fan of au gatin potatoes, but I love ham and potatoes. My family has a favorite recipe called Leprechaun Casserole that we always bring out around St. Patrick’s Day. It’s just ground beef, potatoes, shredded cheese, peas, and mushroom soup. Big crowd pleaser. I also like making fruit salads to take to potlucks. I can shoot you the recipe if you like.

  2. easy, yummy and cheap! What’s not to love 🙂 ?
    Being Italian, when my family comes up to visit me, I always make some fresh filled pasta (tortelli di patate, usually): I can make them ahed and freeze them for ever or so 🙂
    When instead I go down, I make bread for them (the pasta is always made by nan, who’s a million time better at it then me 🙂 )

    • That sounds really good! It’s been a long time since I made some filled pasta – something I used to do with my gram….I think it’s time to bring back the tradition!

  3. Those look delish!! I’ll be making them this weekend I think. As for buying au gratin potatoes pretty cheap–yes you can, but they are so full of sodium and preservatives that it makes it worth it to make them from scratch. 🙂

  4. Pingback: 11 Low Cost Meal Ideas Under $1.42 Per Serving « A Modern Christian Woman

  5. Pingback: Au Gratin Potatoes « hypercello

Leave a Reply

