Lemon Cream Pancakes

Lemon Cream Pancakes

These pancakes are perfect for a spring or summer breakfast – light and fluffy with a hint of lemon.  They are the perfect base for fresh berries and maybe a spoonful of sweetened yogurt or cream.  I love these – they taste like sunshine!  This recipe is from the Joy of Cooking – one of my favorite cookbooks!

Lemon Cream Pancakes

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/3 cup sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup sour cream

1/3 cup milk

grated zest of two lemons

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

3 tablespoons butter, melted

1 egg

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

Quickly mix the liquid ingredients into the dry ingredients.  The batter will be thick and bubbly.  Cook on a non-stick griddle, flipping when bubbles appear on the surface.  Serve warm with berries and cream.  Enjoy!

The total cost for this recipe is $2.65 and it makes twelve, 4-inch pancakes – not too bad!  I’m not sure how much pancake mix is, I don’t buy it because I think it’s just as easy to mix them from scratch.

What are your favorite spring/summer breakfast ideas?  I’d love to hear from you!  I hope you try these pancakes – you will love them!

29 thoughts on “Lemon Cream Pancakes

  1. Stephanie, you’re killing me w/ these yummers….(trying to downsize the waist line) BUT I adore all things lemony so I’ll have to give these a taste test. 🙂

    *anna

  2. Oh no! I truly thank you for the like on my last post, but now that I’ve discovered your blog, I’m in big trouble because I literally want to make EVERYTHING on here!

  3. I am so glad I found you!! These recipes look incredible. I already have my list for next week’s meals. {so excited}

  4. Is my bed made yet? Seriously…I’ll sleep in the barn, garage, in the dog house, wherever, but I’m heading north. Blueberries are starting to come in about now. This could be a breakfast made in heaven. 🙂 Just Pinned to my Pinterest board. Can’t wait to try these!

  5. I really mus try this, they look so good. Many years ago while house sitting in Seattle I thought that I would try and make pancakes the result was a total failure just a blue acrid fog that permeated the whole house and a sink full of pans. Its high time I tried again and will be sure to let you know how it goes!

  6. Pingback: Happy Mother’s Day! Strawberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast « A Modern Christian Woman

Leave a Reply

