Roasted Garlic Parmesan Polenta

Roasted Garlic Parmesan Polenta

Tonight I am making Braised Chicken with Zucchini and Tomatoes – served over crispy polenta cakes.  This is my favorite way to make polenta, with the addition of roasted garlic and parmesan.  It’s super creamy, flavorful and a great alternative to mashed potatoes (my favorite!), rice or noodles.  You can flavor it however you like, but it’s equally delicious plain.  I’ll be featuring the Braised Chicken recipe later today….stay tuned!

Roasted Garlic Parmesan Polenta

2 cups homemade chicken stock

2 cups milk

1 cup yellow cornmeal

2 tablespoons butter

2 tablespoons roasted garlic (more or less depending on your tastes)

1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

salt and pepper to taste

In a medium saucepan, heat chicken stock, milk, butter and roasted garlic until mixture comes to a boil.  Slowly add the cornmeal – whisking constantly until polenta has thickened.  Cover and cook over very low heat for 5 minutes.  Stir in cheese, salt a in nd pepper.  Serve immediately.  Or…pour into a lightly oiled 9 x 13 inch baking dish.  Let cool.  Cover and place in refrigerator until cold and firm.  Cut into desired shapes and pan fry in olive oil or butter – this is how I will be making it tonight.

I’m not sure on how much money I save by making this from scratch – I have never bought ready-to-eat polenta at the store.  Mainly because it’s so easy to make from scratch – and it can be flavored any way you like.  This recipe cost  $1.75 to make (most of the cost in the parmesan  cheese) and it serves 4 – 6 people.

Do you have any favorite alternatives to mashed potatoes?   If so, how often do you make it?  I’d love to hear your recipes and suggestions! 

8 thoughts on “Roasted Garlic Parmesan Polenta

  1. Oh my gosh, can I have you come cook for me???
    This dish (and others of yours) looks absolutely amazing!! My mouth can’t stop watering. I’m sure your family is totally in love with your cooking 🙂

  2. When I was a kids polenta with meat ragu (sauce) was dinner. Like I said I grew up in WV but my dad is full Italian and so my mom would make polenta, we would put chopped up cheese (mozzarella or blue cheese) in the middle of the plate, plop on some polenta and top with sauce. So rich and filing especially on cold winter days. And like you said cheap to make, the store bought stuff has preservatives and too much sodium for my taste.Just sayin. 🙂

    • I totally agree! I really like the idea of putting the cheese down first, then the polenta – In my house growing up we put down fresh ricotta cheese topped with pasta and sauce – sort of like lasagna – only not baked!

Leave a Reply

