Braised Chicken with Zucchini and Tomatoes

Braised Chicken with Zucchini and Tomatoes

This recipe comes from a friend of mine – she makes it in the summer with her garden zucchini and tomatoes.  You can substitute tomato sauce for the fresh tomatoes if they aren’t in season.  The sauce is great over rice, buttered noodles, mashed potatoes, and of course – polenta.  I baked my polenta in the oven today, but of course you can keep it creamy, pan fry it or even deep fry it.  It’s a simple, family style recipe – one that I make often.

Braised Chicken with Zucchini and Tomatoes

One 3 pound chicken, cut into eighths – skin removed

salt and pepper

1 tablespoon flour

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 large onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, chopped

1 3/4 cup homemade chicken stock

2 medium zucchini, sliced

6 roma tomatoes, diced (or 1 1/2 cups tomato sauce)

Sprinkle chicken with salt, pepper and flour.  Heat olive oil in a large skillet, add chicken and brown on all sides.  Cover and cook 10 minutes.  Remove to a plate.  In the same skillet – add onion and garlic, cooking until lightly browned.  Add in chicken stock and tomatoes (if using sauce).  Place chicken back into skillet, cover and simmer for an additional 10 minutes.  Add zucchini and tomatoes (if using chopped tomatoes), cover and cook until zucchini is tender and chicken is cooked through.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

This entire recipe cost $8.50 and serves 6 – it’s very economical because it utilizes the whole chicken instead of just chicken breasts.  If you grow your own vegetables, the total cost will be even lower.  I love serving this family style – everyone can get as much sauce as they want!

What are your favorite “family style” recipes?  Do you serve them to guests also?  I’d love to hear from you!  I hope you give this one a try – it’s easy and delicious!

16 thoughts on “Braised Chicken with Zucchini and Tomatoes

      • Have you been photographing food very long? They are so professional! I love taking pics of the food I make but they never turn out pretty enough to put on my blog. I’m new to blogging and photography. I hope I get better at it. I look forward to seeing your pics and recipes each day. They are yummy and beautiful!

      • Thank you! No, I haven’t been photographing food long either – my husband just bought me my first camera! I’m so glad you like them!

  1. You are new to photography? Really? You take great food photos, and those are not the easiest to take! Oh, and yes, your recipes are awesome!!

  2. OMG, Stephanie–every time I see another one of your recipes, I want to try it like…yesterday. Each seems incredibly delicious. I’m a pretty good cook but don’t necessarily enjoy it. Your recipes make me want to–now there is an achievement at your end.

    Looking forward to more–and figuring out a way to keep up with your posts, lol.

  3. Pingback: 11 Low Cost Meal Ideas Under $1.42 Per Serving « A Modern Christian Woman

Leave a Reply

