Basic Bread Bowls

Basic Bread Bowls

Today my husband requested I make spinach and feta dip baked in a bread bowl – one of his all-time favorite snacks (recipe coming later today).  The more I thought about it, the better it sounded!  I quickly got to work on the dough for the bread bowl.  This is an adaptation of my standard white bread recipe.  I swapped out some of the white flour for whole wheat, just to see how my family would like it.  I’m trying to incorporate more whole grains into our diet – and this seemed like a good place to start!  You can also bake this in loaf pans – it makes a great sandwich bread!

Basic Bread Bowls

2 cups white bread flour

2 cups whole wheat flour

2 tablespoons sugar

2 packages active dry yeast

3 teaspoons salt

2 cups warm water

4 tablespoons butter

Additional 2 or more cups of white flour

In a large bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water.  Add sugar, salt, butter, 2 cups of white flour, 2 cups of whole wheat flour and mix thoroughly.  Slowly add in the remaining flour until the dough is no longer sticky.  Place on a floured surface and knead for 7 – 10 minutes until smooth and elastic.  Place in a lightly oiled bowl, cover and let rise until doubled – about 1 hour.  Punch down dough, form into two balls and place on a baking sheet.  Cover and let rise again until doubled – about 30 minutes.  Bake at 450 degrees for 10 minutes, lower the heat to 350 degrees and bake for another 30 minutes until nicely browned.  Let cool on wire racks.  Makes 2 bread bowls.

I usually use one of the loaves to bake the spinach and feta and the other I cut into cubes for dipping.  In my grocery store, you can buy pre-made bread bowls at $1.50 each.  This recipe costs less – $1.00 for two loaves.  You can also use these bowls for individual servings of soup.  Another fun idea is to hollow out the bowls, add in homemade pasta, sauce and cheese (any kind) and bake in the oven until the cheese is melted.  This is a favorite of my children!

Do you have a favorite bread recipe?  I’d love to hear from you!  I hope you try this out!

7Z6ME6VRSA65

14 thoughts on “Basic Bread Bowls

  1. Now here is one I will definately be trying, because my husband loves his Clam Chowder in a bread bowl! We’ve never found the bread bowls at any of the stores around us, so I’ve tried different recipes for the bread bowls but so far none have worked to our satisfaction. Thanks for sharing this one!

  2. I’m inspired to try something with bread bowls now! Well, if nothing else, then to at least slice these up to go alongside of an entree! They look awesome!

Leave a Reply

