Molasses Sugar Cookies

Molasses Sugar Cookies

It’s a dreary, rainy day here in western PA.  The kind of day that makes you want to curl up with a steamy, hot cup of tea, a great cookie – and a movie or two!  I love this recipe – not only because it goes great with tea, but it’s also perfect for the kids to help with! My little one loves rolling the dough into balls!  The flavor is somewhere between a gingersnap and a sugar cookie – a hint of molasses with the spice of cinnamon and ginger.  I found this recipe posted in our local newspaper a few years ago, along with a few others for a Christmas cookie swap.

Molasses Sugar Cookies

3/4 cup butter

1 cup packed brown sugar

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon cloves

1 teaspoon ginger

1 egg

1/4 cup molasses

1 teaspoon baking soda

granulated sugar, for rolling

Cream together the butter and brown sugar.  Beat in egg, molasses spices and baking soda.  Add in flour and mix well.  The resulting dough is very soft, refrigerate until firm and easy to handle, about 1 hour.  Form dough into 1-inch balls and roll in granulated sugar.  Place dough balls two inches apart on a lightly greased cookie sheet.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 8 – 10 minutes until set and starting to brown.  Cool briefly on cookie sheet and remove to racks to cool completely.  This recipe makes 36 cookies.

The total cost of this recipe is around $1.30 (depending on where you get your spices) – not too bad for a quick snack!  Most store-bought, pre-made cookies are much more expensive!  In my grocery store, it cost $3.99 for one dozen sugar cookies – and I have no idea what’s in them!

What is your favorite cookie recipe?  Do you have a special recipe you like to make with your kids?  I’d love to hear from you!  Enjoy!

You might also like:

Brownies From Scratch

Easy Peanut Butter Cookies

Anise Pizzelles

99 thoughts on “Molasses Sugar Cookies

  1. I love the idea of spicing up your classic sugar cookie. I’m going to have to try this!

    I’ve been craving a really good chewy chocolate chip cookie recently. I just can’t seem to find the perfect recipe that is soft but not greasy. The hunt will go on!

    Thanks for a great post!

  2. These look delicious – we always make cookies on Sundays for kid’s lunches during the week. I’d like to make these tomorrow. Just have to make sure I have some ground cloves in the cupboard first..

  3. This is just the kind of simple cookie I like to make. And the kids are thrilled when they get to roll their cookies in more sugar–we make a lot of snickerdoodles around here!

  4. Yummmm! These sound great. If I wanted to enter a coma I would ice them with cream cheese and molasses icing.

  5. Sugar cookies are one of my faves (other than snickerdoodles), so I already know these would be added to my “Favorite Desserts” list! I love that you tried them with tea! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

    P.S. Thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

  6. I’ve been looking for a good molasses sugar cookie recipe…we’ll try it this weekend, so thanks. I usually sub the flour with whole wheat flour. Any potential pitfalls that you know of?

      • By “this weekend” I guess I meant the next wekend we don’t have a graduation, vacation, visit from Mom….ugh. But, these are near the top of my list and you’ll be the first to know how it goes. Take Care!

      • Finally got to these over the weekend, though I altered them a bit with anise and black licorice. I posted today with full credit to you for the molasses sugar cookie recipe. The whole wheat (less protein) meant they were slightly less flattened but otherwise produced a great structure. Thanks!

  7. I am a Super Freak for molasses;thanks for the recipe and thanks for stopping by my blog.Real butter may not be on my diet but I’m sure my granddaughters will love them.And of course I’ll have to quality test one

  8. Stephanie, I can’t wait to try this cookie recipe! I’ve been wanting to try a homemade molasses cookie recipe for some time now and this looks scrumptious!

    I also wanted to say thank you for “liking” my post, “The Law of Kindness”. I’ve been in the process of changing my site over, so that post is now on the new site, which I’ve included in the details portion of this reply. I’d love to have you come back and visit sometime! I’m really new to the blogging community and am feeling my way along, trying to figure out how everything works! Your “like” enabled me to visit your site and look around. I love what you are doing, what you are about, and how you are presenting things. I know that God is blessing your efforts and that you will continue to inspire and encourage a lot of people. I look forward to visiting here often and trying out all the wonderful recipes!

    Keep up the good work!

    Blessings,
    Patsy

    • Hi Patsy! Thank you so much for all the kind words! I will surely be back to your site, I really enjoyed what I’ve seen so far! Thank you so much for stopping by and if you try out the molasses sugar cookies – I would love to hear how they turned out!

  9. Stephanie,

    Thanks for stopping by and liking my new blog! Sounds like you’ve got your hands full and are doing a great job! Keep up the good work and please feel free to leave a comment or photos on my blog.

  10. I agree. You don’t know what’s in those expensive bakery cookies. I must try your recipe as my hubby loves Molasses cookies. My favorite recipe is for snickerdoodles. It’s just butter, flour, sugar, an egg, and cinnamon.

  11. i made molasses cookies once but they turned out awful and looked nowhere near as good as these. although it took me 7 to realise that they tasted pretty bad ! my favourite cookies are ones that involve hefty amounts of chocolate and sugar. mmm …

  12. You want a good cookie recipe, and want to keep the small ones’ little paws out of the cookie jar at the same time? Make your basic chocolate chip cookie recipe, but add a cup of cocoa. And — a tablespoon or two of chili powder, and maybe a teaspoon of black pepper or five spice or cinnamon, while you’re at it. Maybe add another egg to keep the batter loose. Voila! Grownup’s cookies! If you want to go totally crazy, add a cup of pine nuts.

  13. Pingback: Black Licorice and Molasses Cookies | TheFamilyFeed

Leave a Reply

