Fast Pizza Dough

Fast Pizza Dough

It’s Friday, and in our house that means homemade pizza.  It wasn’t always homemade – we used to have a standing order at the local pizza shop.  Then one day the kids and I decided it would be fun to make our own – and we’ve been doing it ever since!  This recipe is my moms, she uses it in her garden sliced tomato pizza.  It’s an incredible concoction of fresh sliced tomatoes, drizzled with olive oil and topped with garlic and herbs.  The final touch is a fresh grating of romano cheese.  As soon as we get some garden tomatoes – I’ll post the recipe.  You’ll love it.

The best part of this dough recipe is how fast it is – it only takes 20 minutes to rise!

Fast Pizza Dough

1 cup warm water

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup oil

1 package active dry yeast

3 cups of flour

In a large bowl, combine yeast and water, let sit until yeast is dissolved.  Add salt, oil and 2 cups of the flour.  Mix well.  Add enough remaining flour to the dough until it is no longer sticky.  Knead on a floured surface until smooth and elastic, about 5 – 7 minutes.  Divide in two, place on an oiled baking sheet and cover with a towel.  Let rise until doubled, about 20 minutes.  Punch down, press into pizza tins that have been sprinkled with corn meal.  I do mine free form on a baking sheet.  Top as desired and bake in a 500 degree oven until the crust is golden, crispy and the cheese (if using) is melted.

The total cost for this recipe came in at $.35 – a significant savings from the store-bought kind!

Tip:  I usually purchase my yeast in bulk, $4.68 for 2 pounds of active dry yeast.  It will last me a year, kept in the refrigerator.

Do you make your own pizza? If so, do you have a “go to” pizza crust recipe?

43 thoughts on “Fast Pizza Dough

  1. Homemade pizza is the best. My mom still has pizza parties for all of us, our spouses and kids and we make personal mini pizzas. It’s a blast!

  2. OMGosh– you sound just like me!! We had a standing ‘pizza day’ and started doing homemade as well–in fact I made one tonight. I make a 50/50 white/wheat dough.

    • 🙂 I need to start incorporating whole wheat dough into our breads – adding it to pizza dough sounds like a great place to start! The kids probably won’t even notice! Great idea, thanks!

      • We’ve worked our way up to about 50/50…just start substituting in the whole wheat a little at a time to find what works for you–if you use white wheat flour they will notice less.

  3. I was just sitting here this evening debating what to make for dinner, and decided to try your recipe! I made a whole wheat version and it came out great. I’ve never made pizza dough before and am intimidated by yeast, but this was so simple, thanks for a great recipe!!

  4. This recipe looks great – and I love reading the comments about whole wheat flour. So excited to try this!

  5. Sounds easy enough, Stephanie. I buy mine ready to go at my neighborhood bakery: $1.50 for white flour and $1.75 for whole wheat. It’s excellent and doesn’t get easier.

    As per making my own, would white whole wheat flour work in place of white?

  6. We made homemade pizza last night… a small pepperoni and cheese for my youngest son and a “pizza supreme” for the rest of us with sausage, pepperoni, onions, green peppers and grape tomatoes cut in half. It was the best one I’ve made so far. I had leftover dough and ended up making cinnamon rolls for breakfast this morning. I’ll try your pizza dough recipe as well. I’m always looking for good pizza dough recipes.

    • I like peppers and onions, another favorite of mine (but not my family) is thin pieces of ham, pineapple and onion – sounds crazy, but it’s really good! For the sauce I usually take some crushed tomatoes and season them up with fresh garlic, salt, pepper and a little basil. I also like to use alfredo sauce as a base and put sliced chicken and spinach on top.

  7. Pingback: 3 Flour + Flax Rustic Pizza Dough |

  8. Pingback: Recipe and Sneak peek « QUIET WORKINGS (or not so quiet).

  9. Pingback: My Favorite Pizza – Spicy Chicken Alfredo « A Modern Christian Woman

  10. Have been looking for a good crust. I usually use a Boboli or Pilsbury and make 2-3 and freeze them. I have also thought about asking a local Italian restaurant if they would sell me some dough.

    My hubs likes sausage and peppers. I write the baking instructions on the outside of the aluminum foil or he can “cook” dinner! Gives me a break and he feels like he has contributed in the kitchen.

  11. Pingback: Simple Sunday Fare « Joanna Aislinn's Blog–Love, Life Lessons and Then Some

  12. Pingback: Grilled BBQ Chicken Pizza With Pineapple « A Modern Christian Woman

Leave a Reply

