Homemade Cinnamon Rolls

Homemade Cinnamon Rolls

These cinnamon rolls are a tradition in my house.  I make them every holiday morning, but I also make them at least once or twice a month.  Last Christmas, I didn’t make them – I tried out some new recipes instead.  I thought that they weren’t special because I make them all the time.  My children thought differently.  They were really sad that I had broken tradition, as it was something they looked forward to each year.  Who knew?!  By the way, I ended up making them that year, we just had them after Christmas dinner instead!

Homemade Cinnamon Rolls

3/4 cup milk

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup sugar

1 teaspoon salt

2 packages active, dry yeast

1/2 cup warm water

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

6 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup sugar

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

3 tablespoons softened butter

Icing (recipe follows)

In a small saucepan, heat milk, sugar, salt and butter until butter is melted.  Remove from heat and let cool.  In a large bowl, combine the yeast and warm water and let sit until yeast is dissolved.  Add milk mixture, eggs, vanilla and 2 cups of the flour.  Mix well.  Add enough remaining flour to form dough that does not stick to the sides of the bowl.  Cover and let stand for 5 minutes.  Knead until smooth and elastic about 10 minutes, it will be very soft.  Place dough in greased bowl, cover and let rise until doubled, 1 – 1 1/2 hours.  Mix remaining sugar and cinnamon together in a small bowl.  Punch down dough and divide in half.  Roll each half of the dough into an 8 x 12 inch rectangle.  Brush half the softened butter on each rectangle and top with half of the cinnamon sugar mixture.  Roll each rectangle up, jelly roll style (long end to long end).  Cut the dough into 12  one inch slices.  Repeat with remaining half of dough.  Place the slices into a greased 9 x 13 inch baking pan.  Cover and let rise until doubled, about 30 minutes.  Bake in a 375 degree oven for 20 – 25 minutes.  Let cool for a few minutes and then frost.

Creamy Cinnamon Roll Frosting

5  cups powdered sugar

1/4 cup milk

1/2 cup room temperature butter

2 teaspoons vanilla

pinch of salt

In a medium bowl, whisk all ingredients together until well blended.  Use immediately.

The total cost to make 24 of these rolls came out to around $4.50 – I know that you purchase ready to bake cinnamon rolls for less – but I promise they are not as good!  In my house, my kids prefer extra icing – and my husband prefers no icing.  So I frost accordingly!  I hope you give these a try – I am sure you will enjoy them!

21 thoughts on “Homemade Cinnamon Rolls

  1. I’m glad you thought my homemade granola was awesome. It looks like we have several asreas of similar interest. I love your KitKat cake. if you like cake decorating check my blog every Sunday for my Show & Tell post

  2. Oh wow am I a sucker for cinnamon rolls and your recipe looks divine! Thanks for stopping by my blog. As you can tell I am just beginning this adventure and loving every minute of it! 🙂

  3. They sound great, even without icing!! I’m thinking these will have to be made in the near future…..

    ANd about traditions…its funny the things that make it special.

  4. Hi Stephanie, I adore cinnamon rolls and will have to make your recipe very soon! Also loved the parmesan crusted pork recipe – just off to the butcher around the corner!
    Thanks for visiting my blog!

  5. I became addicted to cinnamon rolls in Chicago’s O’Hare airport in 2006. I’d never tasted them before. I do confess, I bought some, ate them, then went back later and bought more to eat on the plane (I can’t even use the excuse that I was flying the 19 hours home because I did stopover in LA for 2 days….and the rolls didn’t make it off the flight). I’m definitely trying your recipe, it sounds perfect!

  6. Pingback: Cinnamon Swirl Bread « A Modern Christian Woman

Leave a Reply

