Simple Baked Apple Butter

Simple Baked Apple Butter

Since today is the first day of my self-imposed “Cooking From Scratch Experiment”, I thought I would share with one of the things we spread on all the toast we eat.  I made these up for Christmas last year as gifts – along with a Caramel Pear Butter and a Banana Butter.  Thankfully I had enough foresight to save some for us too!  I love making fruit butters and jams – I am really looking forward to putting up some strawberry and raspberry jam this summer!  This recipe is from the Joy of Cooking.

Simple Baked Apple Butter

6 pounds unpeeled apples, I used MacIntosh

8 cups apple juice

1 lemon, zest grated and juiced

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

3/4 teaspoons ground cloves

1/4 teaspoon ground allspice

Wash, stem and quarter the apples and combine in a large saucepan with the juice.  Cover and simmer, stirring occasionally until the apples are soft.  About 1 1/2 hours.  Preheat the oven to 200 degrees.  Pass the apples through a food mill .  Return to the pan and add the lemon juice, zest, sugar and spices.  Slowly bring to a boil, stirring frequently.  Pour three-quarters of the puree into a deep baking dish, reserving the rest.  Bake, uncovered until thick enough to mound on a spoon, about 10 hours.  As the mixture shrinks, stir in the reserved puree, and continue baking until the entire mixture is very hot.  Pack the hot apple butter into hot 1/2 pint jars, leaving 1/4 inch headspace.  Process for 15 minutes.

This is such a yummy and easy way to make apple butter – mostly because once it’s in the oven it takes care of itself.  It goes great with homemade bread (see here).

Cost Breakdown:

Apples – $.79/pound (I got these in the fall) = $4,74

Apple Juice – $1.79

White Sugar – $.25

Brown Sugar – $.30

Spices – I usually have these on hand

Total – $7.08 for 4 pints (it costs $3.99 for each pint to buy at my local grocery store)

Savings –  $2.81 per pint!

I’d call that a success!  Do you like to make your own jams and preserves?  What are your favorite recipes? I hope you give this a try – it’s easy and tastes great!

17 thoughts on “Simple Baked Apple Butter

  1. That looks wonderful! Last fall, I made apple butter using my crock pot. It was delicious. I got the recipe from the book, “The Feast Nearby.” I have a link to the book’s blog on my BlogRoll. Check it out – I think you’d really enjoy this book. The author made everything from scratch – and then some!

  2. Thank so much for sharing. They do not sell apple butter where I live and so I have to cross over to the states to get some. What would you suggest using in place of a food mill?

    • A sieve would work well, although if you peeled the apples, you could puree in the blender or a food processor. The color would just be lighter – but still delicious!

  3. Yes! Thank you so much for this recipe. I LOVE apple butter and I have had such a craving for it lately. I have been puzzled by the fact that I have been unable to find it at any of my local grocery stores recently. Thanks to this recipe, my craving will finally be satisfied and with no preservatives 🙂

  4. My family absolutely loves Apple Butter. The small store in Kansas we always buy local apple butter from when visiting the Grandparents no longer exists…I will have to try this out and see if I can do it justice! Also, thanks for stopping by my blog and for the like!

  5. Thanks for visiting my blog and for introducing me to yours. This apple butter looks wonderful.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  6. Pingback: Mostly Whole Wheat Bread – In a Slow Cooker! « A Modern Christian Woman

Leave a Reply

