Anise Pizzelles

Anise Pizzelles

My grandmother always had pizzelles on hand just in case she “got company”.  Lucky for me, she always had a few set aside for me.  This is her recipe.  Feel free to substitute other flavorings such as vanilla or lemon.  She preferred anise, so that is how I make them for my kids.

Anise Pizzelles

makes 4 dozen

6 eggs

1 cup oil

1 1/4 cup sugar

3 cups flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 bottle extract (anise, vanilla, lemon)

Heat pizzelle iron according to manufacturer directions.  Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl.  The batter will be thick.  Place one tablespoon of the batter onto hot iron.  Close the iron and cook for about 60 seconds (yours may take longer).  Remove immediately and place on a rack to cool.  Alternatively, once the pizzelles are removed from the iron and still hot – you can form them into any shape you want.  Cones are great for ice cream, roll up like a cigar and stuff with whipped cream or pastry cream.  You can also drape the hot cookie over the back of a muffin tin to form a bowl.  Once cooled, fill with fresh whipped cream and berries.  Really yummy!

What are your favorite family recipes?  I’d love to hear from you and I hope you enjoy these!

25 thoughts on “Anise Pizzelles

  1. So are these kinda sorta… waffles? Crispy waffles? They’re so pretty and delicate, like edible paper doilies – and they contain anise… now, if only I wasn’t low-carbing at the moment… but come the autumn, these are gonna be on my list of Things To Pig Out On!

    • They are kind of like a really thin waffle, and are very crispy when you first take them off the pizzelle iron, once you wrap them up for storage – they soften up a bit. Let me know how you like them!

  2. OK, how are these pronounced, ‘cos the name is causing a certain amount of ill-mannered sniggering in my household… PLEASE tell me it’s ‘pizz’ like in ‘pizza’, so the whole thing is pronounced ‘peat-zell’!

  3. Pingback: Molasses Sugar Cookies « A Modern Christian Woman

  4. Thanks for checking out my blog! My grandmother always had these on hand too. They were a staple for me growing up and still are. They’re a very nice treat and I make them several times a year.

  5. I make these every year in honor of my grandmother. Now that I’m on the primal blueprint I am going to try and make them Primal to fit my diet. (if that doesn’t work I’m still going to eat them in December – it wouldn’t be Christmas without them)

Leave a Reply

