Cooking From Scratch Experiment – Part 2

 

I have been thinking a lot about my experiment that starts next week (see here).  I decided I would need some “rules” to follow – otherwise I would go completely crazy at the grocery store, which would totally defeat the purpose of saving money cooking from scratch.  So here is what I came up with:

  • I decided that I would begin by utilizing items I already have on hand.  In light of trying to save money on my grocery budget, I think it’s very important to be able to use up leftovers, freezer and pantry items already purchased.  I am interested to see how far into the two weeks I can get before breaking down and going to the store!
  • I also decided that I will be doubling  some meals and freezing half to serve during the second week – just to make life a little easier!
  • Each day I will post the menu for the day, as well as the difference in cost between homemade and store-bought.  I am anxious to see the results!

I think I should also mention that my family of seven has many different tastes, for example, my son is a vegetarian (mostly) so I typically have a few options to choose from.  Because of this, I usually make meals that serve 4 – 6 and have lots of sides to go with it.  (Also, we are a blended family, so not everyone is here all of the time – in case you were wondering).

Some of the things I will be making are (in no particular order):

  • Roast Chicken (leftovers will be made into soup and possibly taquitos or enchiladas)
  • Pasta with Sunday Sauce
  • Homemade Pizza (my kids favorite)
  • Chili
  • Scalloped Potatoes with Ham (frozen from easter)

This list will surely evolve as the weeks unfold and activities come up.

Check in with me next week to see how it’s going! Thanks to everyone who posted tips – you’ve been very helpful – keep them coming!   

4 thoughts on “Cooking From Scratch Experiment – Part 2

Leave a Reply

