Garlic Cheese Bread

Garlic Cheese Bread

For dinner tonight we are having some leftover magic inspired by the competition going on over at Danny’s Kitchen  –  it’s going to be a cross between Jambalaya and Cajun Alfredo pasta (stay tuned…).  Since this dish is probably going to be a little spicy, I thought this bread might be nice to go with the pasta.  It sure does make my house smell good!

Garlic Cheese Bread

1 1/2 cups milk

1/3 cup sugar

4 tablespoons butter

1 tablespoon salt

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup warm water

2 packages active dry yeast

1 large egg

1 1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

3 tablespoons pecorino romano cheese, grated

5 – 6 cups all-purpose flour

In a small saucepan heat milk, sugar, butter, salt and garlic until butter is melted.  Remove from heat, let cool.  In a large bowl combine yeast and water.  Let sit until yeast is dissolved.  Add in the cooled milk mixture, cheeses, egg and half of the flour.  Mix well.  Add in enough of the remaining flour to form a dough.  Knead dough for 7 to 10 minutes until smooth and elastic.  Place in oiled bowl, cover and let rise until doubled – about 1 hour.  Punch down dough and form into 2 loaves.  Grease two loaf pans and place dough in the pans.  Cover and let rise again until doubled – about 1 hour.  Brush the tops with melted butter and bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes.  Makes 2.

Enjoy!  Let me know how you like it!

17 thoughts on “Garlic Cheese Bread

    • Thanks for stopping by! I know what you mean…after I posted it, I thought people might think it would have cheese melted on top. But this is really good, very light in texture with a mellow cheesy garlic flavor..if that makes sense!

  1. This looks epically delicious and epically easy. It also looks like it would make really good sandwiches… like roast beef and cheddar or something. I can’t wait to try this out! 🙂

      • Hahaha… that would happen. Since I live alone, I’m hoping that no one steals my bread. If someone does, I’m sure I’d be a little worried about locking the door. ^_^’

        I might actually try this out on my class. I’m blogging soup for 14 weeks and promised them samples. I’ll be sure to let you know how it goes. 🙂

      • H’okay, so my plans for this bread have changed a bit now that it has come out of the oven. I’m taking some to my coworkers on Wednesday for a party since my prof offered to order Jimmy John’s on Tuesday. Nonetheless, I’ll be sure to keep you posted on the reception. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  3. Pingback: Cinnamon Swirl Bread « A Modern Christian Woman

  4. Pingback: Garlic Cheddar Herb Bread « Chicken Soup for the Sole

Leave a Reply

