Bacon and Maple Waffles

Bacon and Maple Waffles

 

My 2-year-old is a waffle fanatic.  She asks for them everyday, so usually I make up a double batch and keep them in the freezer.  To thaw, I just place a frozen waffle in the toaster and we are good to go.  Today I decided (there weren’t any left in the freezer) to try something new.  I had a recipe from Cooking Light magazine for Bacon Maple Waffles and decided to combine it with my regular waffle recipe.  Here’s what I came up with…and let me say that these are AMAZING!  The combo works perfectly – so perfectly that I wanted to eat all 7!

 

Bacon and Maple Waffles

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 cup milk

4 tablespoons pure maple syrup (I used Grade A, Dark Amber)

4 tablespoons melted butter

4 slices thick-cut bacon, cooked crisp and crumbled

3 eggs, beaten

extra butter and maple syrup for serving

Mix first 3 ingredients in large bowl, stir to combine.  Whisk milk, syrup, butter and eggs together in a separate bowl until well combined.  Add to dry ingredients and stir to combine.  Spread about 1/3 to 1/2 cup of batter onto a heated waffle iron. (I used a Belgian waffle maker, so I used 1/2 cup per waffle) Cook 3 – 4 minutes until browned to your liking and cooked through.  Serve with butter and maple syrup (or if you are like my daughter, a sprinkling of powdered sugar instead).

I really hope you try these, they are so good!  Enjoy and please let me know how you like them!

6 thoughts on “Bacon and Maple Waffles

Leave a Reply

