The Cooking From Scratch Experiment

Have you ever wondered how much money can be save cooking from scratch?  Have you ever wondered if it was even possible to make everything your family eats from scratch – and by possible I mean not consuming the entire day?  I have been thinking a lot lately about those questions and more.  For example, what would we eat for snacks?  What would I do if we ran out of ketchup?  So….I have decided to conduct a little experiment.

Starting on Monday, April 16th I will be attempting to make everything my family eats completely from scratch for two weeks.  I will be tracking how much money, time and effort are spent to see if it is indeed worth it (nutritional value aside).

  • Cost- I typically spend between $400 and $500 per month on groceries and household items (this is for all 7 of us).  I would like to see how low this can get, although I’m not sure what is reasonable to expect.
  • Time – I will be using recipes that don’t take a large amount of time, or if they do, require little “hands on” time.  I  realize that just about anything can be made from scratch, but I don’t think it should take the entire day, every day.

Later this week I will post my shopping list and menu ideas.  Then, each day I will post the recipes including time and money spent, as well as any challenges that come up.

What about you? Do you cook from scratch, and if so, how often?  Do you have any tips or tricks for avoiding pre-packaged foods? How much money do you think can be saved by cooking this way?

I would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

