Homemade Bread the Easy Way…Batter Bread!

There is nothing quite like the aroma of fresh bread, well…maybe that first bite of warm deliciousness!  In our house, I try to make the majority of our food from scratch.  I do this for a variety of reasons, but the main two reasons are to cut out unnecessary ingredients and to stretch our grocery budget as far as I can.

When I started baking bread, it seemed that I couldn’t keep up with how much we were eating.  Toast for breakfast, sandwiches for lunches and snacks, rolls, the list goes on.  Then I discovered a batter bread recipe from an old Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook.  (I am crazy about vintage cookbooks!)  It is the easiest method for making a quick loaf of bread without all the time spent kneading.  I typically mix the batter up and set it on the counter to rise while I shower and dress in the morning.  By the time I am done, it is usually ready to put into pans for the second rise and baking.

This is one of the breads my family asks for often.  It’s perfect for morning toast, leftovers make a great french toast and it makes a wonderful gift paired with some homemade jam!

Better Homes and Gardens Homemade English Muffin Bread

2 1/2 – 3 cups all-purpose flour

1 Tablespoon active dry yeast (I buy mine in bulk, but you can also use 1 package of active dry yeast)

1 Tablespoon sugar

3/4 Tablespoon salt

1 1/4 cups water

In a large mixer bowl, combine 1 cup of the flour and the yeast.  In a saucepan, combine 1 1/4 cup water, sugar and salt until warm (115 – 120 degrees), stirring to disolve sugar.  Add to dry mixture in bowl.  Beat at low speed with electric mixer for 30 seconds, scraping bowl.  Beat 3 minutes at high speed.  By hand, stir in enough remaining flour to make a soft dough.  Shap into ball.

Place in lightly greasted bowl; turn once to grease surface.  Cover; let rise until double (about 1 hour).  Punch down.  Cover; let rest 10 minutes.  Grease a 1-quart caserole; sprinke with cornmeal. Place dough in casserole; sprinkle top with cornmeal.  Cover; let rise until double (30 – 45 minutes).  Bake at 400 degrees for 40 – 45 minuts.  Cover loosely with foil if top browns too quickly.  Remove from dish; cool.  Makes 1.

Hints:  For easier slicing, bake in a standard loaf pan.  If your kitchen isn’t quite warm enough for the bread to rise, put a small pot of water on the stove to simmer.  Then place the dough on the counter near the stove.  You can’t believe how nicely this works!

Enjoy!  I hope it becomes a favorite at your house too!

8 thoughts on “Homemade Bread the Easy Way…Batter Bread!

  1. Pingback: Mostly Whole Wheat Bread – In a Slow Cooker! « A Modern Christian Woman

  2. Have you ever tried a whole grain version of this one? I am adding it to my list of things to experiment with …

    I also love old cookbooks, they always seem to yield gems!

    • I have used part whole grain flour – but I haven’t used any other whole grains (except oats). I think it would turn out well! If you try it – please let me know how it turns out!

  3. Pingback: Caramel Pear Butter « A Modern Christian Woman

Leave a Reply

