Really Easy, Really Quick Homemade Tomato Ketchup

Homemade Tomato Ketchup

 

In our house, we love ketchup – on everything.  French fries, breaded chicken, meatloaf…etc.  I have been wanting to try a homemade version just to see if I could come close to our favorite brand.  My only issue was that I didn’t want to make a huge quantity, just in case it didn’t work out!

I  came across a recipe that used 1 can of tomato paste as the base and since it didn’t make a huge amount, I had to give it a try!  I made a few changes (because sticking to a recipe is almost impossible for me! ) and came up with the recipe below. The inspiration recipe is from Cook, Dance, Sing - you can check it out here.  She served hers with Black Bean Burgers and a quick Slaw…Yum!  Not quite as “vinegary” as our favorite brand – this version has more depth of flavor.  I really like it, as did the kids – so I will be toying with the recipe to make a larger batch that I put up into jars.

This recipe is perfect for topping your favorite hamburger, fresh-cut fries or even those morning hash browns - it’s a little something special to an otherwise average meal!

 

Homemade Tomato Ketchup

6 ounce can tomato paste

3 tablespoons brown sugar

5 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

1 clove garlic minced (I used a microplane grater for this)

1/4 teaspoon onion powder

1/2 teaspoon salt (you may want more or less depending on your taste)

1/2 teaspoon molasses

pinch allspice

1/2 – 3/4 cup water

In a medium bowl, mix all ingredients except water.  Slowly add water until ketchup has the consistency you desire.  You can serve this as is – but I placed mine in a small saucepan and brought it to a boil.  I then dropped the heat to low and let it simmer for 5 minutes.  The slight cooking seemed to bring the flavors together. 

Ketchup is pretty cheap to buy at the store – so for this recipe, it doesn’t really save you much to make it yourself.  However, I do think that when I come up with a larger recipe for canning – that’s where I will see the savings.  Especially if I use garden tomatoes as a base.

What are your favorite summer condiments?  Have you ever made any yourself?  If so, did you like it better than the store-bought kind?  I’d love to hear from you!

 

4 thoughts on “Really Easy, Really Quick Homemade Tomato Ketchup

  1. My daughter and I both love ketchup on everything too. I have been wanting to make ketchup for a long time, but have never done it. I was so excited to see your “really easy and really quick recipe”! Thank you for sharing the recipe!

  2. Reblogged this on People Excited About Co~Existence = PEACE and commented:
    Stephanie’s simple yet delicious recipes seem endless! This one is such a yummy recipe that I am excited to reblog it for you here. A visit to her wonderful blog is always inspiring. Among so many others, I do recommend you find her earlier post “Why I Don’t Buy Paper Towels… and other money saving tips!”
    Thank you so much to Stephanie for all your kind sharing!

Leave a Reply

